First Set of '23 Solo National Champions Crowned at Lincoln

Congratulations to the first set of provisional winners from each of the 40 classes that concluded competition on Wednesday, Sept. 6, during the 50th running of the Tire Rack SCCA® Solo® National Championships taking place at Lincoln Airpark in Nebraska’s capital city.

Competition resumes Thursday, Sept. 7, 2023, with two more days of autocross action. Developments can be followed at where you’ll find live timing/scoring, as well as audio coverage throughout the day. Also follow @SoloMatters and @sccaofficial on social media for updates and photos from the West and East Courses.

Included below in the list of Tuesday/Wednesday National Champions and class winners is “class: name, car, margin of victory (career national championships).” An asterisk indicates the class either did not reach the participation threshold to crown a National Champion or is a supplemental class.

Super Street: James Yom, Porsche 911 GT3, 0.471sec (fourth National Championship, first in class)
Super Street Ladies: Olivia Hammac, Lotus Evora, 1.933sec (first National Championship)
B Street: David Marcus, Toyota Supra, 0.387sec (second National Championship, second in Class)
B Street Ladies: Laura Marcus, Toyota Supra, 7.170sec (third National Championship, first in class)
C Street: William Keese, Mazda Miata, 0.567sec (first National Championship)
C Street Ladies: Casey Coughlin, Mazda Miata, 0.427sec (fourth National Championship, first in class)
D Street: Ken Roller, Subaru BRZ, 0.949sec (first National Championship)
D Street Ladies: Stephanie Reynoso, Honda Civic Type R, 1.100sec (fourth National Championship, fourth in class)
G Street: Ron Williams, Honda Civic Si, 0.078sec (ninth National Championship, fourth in class)
G Street Ladies: Jessi Williams, Honda Civic Si, 0.844sec (second National Championship in class)
Street Touring Hatchback: Kyle Hemp, Subaru WRX, 0.125sec (first National Championship)
Street Touring Hatchback Ladies: Ally Gobeli, Subaru WRX, 0.987sec (first National Championship)
Street Touring S: Eric Stoltz, Mazda Miata, 0.058sec (third National Championship, third in class)
Street Touring S Ladies: Melanie Kwong, Honda CRX Si, 0.617sec (first National Championship)
Solo Spec Coupe: Mason Herrick, Scion FRS, 0.036sec (second National Championship in class)
Solo Spec Coupe Ladies: Jennifer Bedell, Scion FR-S, 0.944sec (fifth National Championship, fourth in class)
Super Street Prepared: Mike Kuhn, Porsche 911 GT3, 0.245sec (first National Championship)
Super Street Prepared Ladies: Nicole Wong, Chevrolet Corvette, 3.766sec (12th National Championship, second in class)
F Street Prepared: Jonathan Lugod, Honda Civic Si, 0.287sec (sixth National Championship, first in class)
F Street Prepared Ladies: Kim Whitener, Volkswagen Scirocco, 1.467sec (fifth National Championship, first in class)
*Xtreme B: Chris Edens, Mazda Miata, 2.004sec (first Nationals Win)
*Xtreme Street: Eric Sutton, Porsche Turbo, 2.099sec (first Nationals win)
*Xtreme Street Ladies: Sarah Miles, Porsche 911 GT3, N/A (first Nationals win)
X Prepared: Dave Montgomery, Porsche 914, 0.485sec (fourth National Championship, first in class)
X Prepared Ladies: Layne Lindemann, Mazda Miata, 1.585sec (first National Championship)
E Prepared: Patrick Washburn, Honda Civic, 1.798sec (fourth consecutive National Championship in class)
*E Prepared Ladies: Kathy Barnes, Honda Civic, N/A (sixth Nationals win)
Street Modified FWD: Dakota Tabler, Honda CRX, 1.189sec (first National Championship)
*Street Modified FWD Ladies: Karen Thomas, Mini Cooper S, N/A (second Nationals win)
A Modified: Erick Kohler, UTA-Mod, 0.984sec (second National Championship, second in class)
D Modified: Jeremy Ellerby, Sprinto RC, 2.602sec (third National Championship, third in class)
D Modified Ladies: Briget Sawatsky, Lotus Elan, 0.389sec (first National Championship)
E Modified: Jeff Kiesel, KFR Turbo Sprite, 0.704sec (16th National Championship, 15th in class)
E Modified Ladies: Kaila Kiesel, KFR Turbo Sprite, 0.086sec (second National Championship, second in class)
F Modified: Jason Hobbs, Novakar J9, 2.155sec (Fifth National Championship, fifth in class)
F Modified Ladies: Johanna Griest, Novakar J9, 8.810sec (first National Championship)
*Classic American Muscle Sport: Justin Peachey, Chevrolet Corvette Z06, 2.235sec (first Nationals win)
*Classic American Muscle Sport Ladies: Kerry Gonzales, Chevrolet Corvette, 3.986sec (first Nationals win)
*Formula SAE: Philip Pickard, UTA E17, 3.548sec (first Nationals win)
*Heritage Classic Race: Steve Backer, Nissan Roadster, 1.862sec (first Nationals win)

For a complete rundown of the competition and results, visit the 2023 Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championship event webpage.

Photo: Ken Roller took the win in D Street, which very well could be the largest single field at the 50th running of the Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships.

Photo by Rupert Berrington