’23 #SCCARunoffs: By the Numbers

The SCCA National Championship is full of stats, and finding some of the most interesting is a game we love to play. So, in the interest of the 60th running of the Runoffs, including the third time at VIR, let’s see what we can find:





Lately, Spec Racer Ford Gen3 championships have come in pairs. Clay Russell went back-to-back in 2018 and 2019, and Bobby Sak followed that up in 2020 and 2021. Last year’s title went to Franklin Futrelle – and he has a chance to do it again.


One of the most intriguing storylines will be in E Production, where an attempt is being made at four consecutive class victories. It may go unnoticed, however, as it’s the BMW Z3, not the driver, looking for the win. Jesse Prather drove the car to the last three titles; this year, former champ Greg Ira takes a turn with a target on his back.


Mark Boden likes racing at VIR. The proof of that comes from his five podium finishes in the two prior visits. His only miss was a year ago, in the midst of Hurricane Ian’s T2 race, where he finished eighth.


Last year, Nick Bruni became the 14th different driver to win a Spec Miata National Championship in the 17 years the race has been run. Will we get a 15th champ this year?


A total of 21 classes have their defending champion back on board this year, hoping to go back-to-back at VIR.


How do you get to the SCCA Hall of Fame? If you’re Mark Weber, it’s one race at a time. Despite this being the 60th Runoffs, Weber will run his 66th and 67th Runoffs race this week – one in E Production and one in F Production. Mark has not been at each and every Runoffs (but it’s been close) – instead, he often races multiple classes. No one else has crossed the 50th Runoffs race milestone, though Richard Colburn will make his 49th start this week.


When the cars take the grid, 209 Runoffs victories will be represented. That ranges from the 34 drivers who have one Championship to their name, all the way through the battle for the active Runoffs win leaders – John Heinricy (16) and Andrew Aquilante (13, but entered in two races this year).