Andres Flies at Summit Point in Friday Majors Qualifying

SUMMIT POINT, West Virginia (May 1, 2015) – If Friday’s qualifying sessions for this weekend’s SCCA U.S. Majors Tour races at Summit Point Raceway are any indication, the name Keyvan Andres is one for the motorsports community to remember in the coming years.

Fifteen-year old Andres, of Germany, highlighted the day with a sensational lap of 1:04.386 (111.825 mph) around the 10-turn, 2-mile circuit in his K-Hill Motorsports/Hoosier/GK Motorsports Swift 016a Mazda, nearly two seconds faster than the existing SCCA overall and Formula Atlantic® class track record.

Friday offered a pair of qualifying sessions for the seven race groups preparing for U.S. Majors Tour races Saturday and Sunday, serving as Rounds 11 and 12 for the Southeast Conference and Rounds Three and Four for the Northeast Conference.

While Andres effort was notable, being the fastest of all, several other drivers qualified faster than their existing respective class track record at Summit Point. They included: Alex Mayer (Formula 1000), Tyler Kicera (Spec Miata), Greg Obadia (Spec Racer Ford Gen 3), Lee McNeish (Spec Racer Ford), Rob Hines (Touring 3), Mac Korince (B-Spec), David Sanders (Touring 1) and Jerry Hinkle (F Production). The times do not establish new records, though, as SCCA only recognizes track records set during races.

Each of the run groups will hold a final 15-minute qualifying session Saturday morning, followed by 30-minute races. On Sunday, the weekend will conclude with 25-lap races, which will close out the Southeast Conference Championship for 2015.

For all event information, please visit For live audio, timing and Twitter notes throughout the weekend, please visit

SUMMIT POINT, West Virginia – Provisional polesitters for this weekend’s SCCA U.S. Majors Tour races from Summit Point Raceway with class, driver name and car.

American Sedan, Daniel Richardson, Chevrolet Camaro. B-Spec, Mac Korince, MINI Cooper. E Production, Chris Dryden, BMW Z3. F Production, Jerome Hinkle, Lotus 7 Series IV. Formula 500, David Lapham, QRE Invader QC-1. Formula 1000, Alex Mayer, JDR/Suzuki. Formula Atlantic, Keyvan Andres, Swift 016/Mazda. Formula Continental, Chuck Moran, Van Diemen/Ford. Formula Enterprises, Justin Huffman, SCCA FE/Ford. Formula F, James Oseth, Van Diemen RF98. Formula Vee, Stevan Davis, Racer's Wedge SB-1. GT-1, Jack Bush, Ford Mustang. GT-2, Randy Kinsland, Chevrolet Corvette. GT-Lite, Robert Lentz II, Nissan Sentra SER. H Production, Doug Christensen, Honda CRX. Prototype 2, Dennis Hanratty, West WR-1000/Suzuki. Spec Miata, Tyler Kicera, Mazda Miata. SRF, Lee McNeish, Spec Racer Ford. SRF Gen 3, Greg Obadia, Spec Racer Ford G3. Super Touring Lite, Robert Beede, Honda Civic Si. Super Touring Under, Eric Heinrich, BMW E30 M3. Touring 1, David Sanders, Chevrolet Corvette. Touring 2, Preston Calvert, Ford Mustang. Touring 3, Rob Hines, Nissan 350Z. Touring 4, Michael Scornavacchi, Pontiac Solstice.

Summit Point Majors U.S. Majors Tour