First US Majors Tour Championships of 2015 Awarded at Summit Point

SUMMIT POINT, W. Va. (May 2, 2015) – The initial group of SCCA U.S. Majors Tour Champions were honored Saturday at Summit Point Raceway, in a dual conference race that served as Round 11 of 12 for the Southeast Conference and Round Three of 12 in the Northeast Conference.

Chuck Moran, of Oakton, Va., took his second Formula Continental win of the season and his ninth podium finish in his Van Diemen Ford to clinch his third-consecutive Conference Championship.

In the same race, German 15-year old Keyvan Andres broke the overall and Formula Atlantic ® class SCCA track record at the 10-turn, 2-mile circuit in his No. 56 K-Hill Motorsports/Hoosier Tire Swift 016a/Mazda en route to victory. His fastest lap of 1:04.529 (111.578 mph) broke the existing track record by 1.8 seconds.

Randy Kinsland, of Whittier, North Carolina, took the GT-2 class win to clinch his second-straight Conference Championship in his No. 14 Crossroads Motorsports Chevrolet Corvette. Kinsland set a new track record with a 1:14.313 en route to victory.

Several drivers previously clinched championships, and others will go down to the wire with Sunday’s Souteast Conference finale races.

Arguably the best race of the day was for the Touring 3 win between former National Champions Rob Hines and Kevin Fandozzi. The pair traded the lead multiple times, with Hines, of Arlington, Virginia, emerging victorious in his No. 4 Nissan/Hoosier/Carbotech/Redline Nissan 350Z over Fandozzi’s No. 96 Insight Driven Race Engineering/Hoosier Chevrolet Cobalt SS.

For full results, driver interviews and live coverage links, please visit

SUMMIT POINT, W.Va. – Class winners from Saturday’s 30-minute SCCA U.S. Majors Tour race at Summit Point Raceway, with class, driver, hometown and car. American Sedan, Cheyne Daggett, Warrenton, Va., Ford Mustang. B-Spec, Mac Korince, Ridgway, Ontario, MINI Cooper. E Production, Chris Dryden, New Freedom, Pa., BMW Z3. F Production, Ken Nesbit, Manassas, Va., Mazda Miata. Formula 500, Michael Brent, Bethel, Conn., Invader QC-1. Formula 1000, Alex Mayer, Harleysville, Pa., JDR/Suzuki. Formula Atlantic, Keyvan Andres, Abbotstown, Pa., Swift 016/Mazda. Formula Continental, Chuck Moran, Oakton, Va., Van Diemen/Ford. Formula Enterprises, Justin Huffman, Herndon, Va., SCCA FE/Ford. Formula F, James Oseth, Sterling, Va., Van Diemen RF98. Formula Vee, Rick Shields, Bridgeville, Pa., VDF/VW. GT-1, Jack Busch, Torrington, Conn., Ford Mustang. GT-2, Randy Kinsland, Whittier, N.C., Chevrolet Corvette. GT-Lite, Robert Lentz II, Chantilly, Va., Nissan Sentra SER. H Production, Tim Pitts, Louisville, Tenn., Volkswagen Golf. Prototype 2, Dennis Hanratty, Mechanicsburg, Pa., West WR-1000/Suzuki. Spec Miata, Tyler Kicera, Manheim, Pa., Mazda Miata. SRF, Jeffrey Lehner, Johnstown, N.Y., Spec Racer Ford. SRF Gen 3, Greg Obadia, Bethesda, Md., Spec Racer Ford G3. Super Touring Lite, Tim Estes, Lyme, N.H., Honda Civic Si. Super Touring Under, Eric Heinrich, Milton, Mass., BMW E30 M3. Touring 1, Joe Aquilante, Chester Springs, Pa., Chevrolet Corvette. Touring 2, Preston Calvert, Patomac, Md., Ford Mustang. Touring 3, Rob Hines, Arlington, Va., Nissan 350Z. Touring 4, Michael Scornavacchi, Matthews, N.C., Pontiac Solstice.

Image: Kevin Fandozzi leads eventual Touring 3 winner Rob Hines (4) at Summit Point Credit: Bill Stoler Image

Summit Point Majors U.S. Majors Tour