Announcing 2020 Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Champions

With the National Championship Runoffs® complete, we can now name those competitors who have earned a 2020 Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championship! This year’s Hoosier Racing Tire SCCA® Super Tour consisted of eight weekends for a total of 16 races during the “regular” season. A driver’s best six finishes, plus their Runoffs performance, counted towards the points totals. Race winners earned 25 points, and 21 points went to runners-up. Points were then doled out to others starting with 18 and descending to a single point for the 20th finisher.

Indeed, the Runoffs played a critical role in the Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championship this year across several of the 26 car classes. In American Sedan®, Daniel Richardson and his Chevrolet Camaro entered the Runoffs with the points lead, but Gregory Eaton and his Ford Mustang took the championship on the strength of a Runoffs victory. Formula Continental® also saw a reshuffle as Robert Allaer, driving a Van Diemen RF02, came into the Runoffs third in points behind fellow Van Diemen drivers Robert Armington and Devin Lesueur. But victory at the National Championship landed Allaer a two-point advantage over Armington in the Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championship tally.

Going into the National Championship, Prototype 1 (P1) drivers Darryl Shoff and Todd Vanacore, both piloting Elan DP-02 cars, were separated by only two points. Shoff had a solid Runoffs performance and finished just off the podium in fourth. Vanacore, however, made the podium with a runner-up appearance. The additional points earned Vanacore the P1 Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championship by a meager two points. And in Prototype 2 (P2), six competitors came to the Runoffs with a shot at winning the Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championship. After the Runoffs, Tray Ayres and his Van Dieman ESR Mazda were tied for the Nationwide Points lead with the Ligier JS 51 of Armen Megregian. But based on Ayres’ two wins during the regular season, he was awarded the P2 Nationwide Points Championship.

Other last-chance points switch-ups included Spec Miata where Runoffs victor Preston Pardus leapfrogged Jim Drago for the Nationwide Points Championship, and the Subaru BRZ of David Fiorelli did the same to Whitfield Gregg and his Mazda Miata in Super Touring® Under.

Certainly, huge praise goes to each and every Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points champ. But a little extra kudos goes to SCCA racers Mark Boden and Michael Lewis. Both men managed two Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championships across two different classes. Boden grabbed GT-2 and Touring 2 honors driving Porsches in both classes, and Michael Lewis earned GT-1 and GT-3 accolades guiding a Jaguar XKR and Mazda RX-7, respectively, to perfection.

Below is a list of Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championship winners with name, hometown, SCCA region, and car make/model.

-American Sedan®: Gregory Eaton; Woodbridge, VA; Washington DC Region; Ford Mustang
-B-Spec: Joseph Gersch; Conroe, TX; Houston Region; Toyota Yaris
-E Production: Jesse Prather; Topeka, KS; Kansas Region; BMW Z3
-F Production: Ken Kannard; Sebring, FL; Atlanta Region; Mazda Miata
-H Production: Steve Sargis; Frankfort, IL; Blackhawk Valley Region; Triumph Spitfire
-Formula 500: James Weida; W. Lafayette, IN; Indianapolis Region; Scorpion W1
-Formula Atlantic®: C. Ahsen Yelkin; Canfield, OH; Steel Cities Region; Swift 014
-Formula Continental®: Robert Allaer; Grosse Pte. Woods, MI; Cent. Fl. Region; Van Diemen RF02
-Formula Enterprises 2: Scott Rettich; Columbus, OH; Ohio Valley Region; SCCA FE2/Mazda
-Formula F: David Livingston Jr; Nashville, TN; Tennessee Region; Spectrum 14H
-Formula Vee®: Andrew Whitston; Neenah, WI; Milwaukee Region; Protoform P2
-Formula X: Grant Palmer; St. Charles, MO; St. Louis Region; Ligier
-GT-1: Michael Lewis; Poway, CA; San Diego Region; Jaguar XKR
-GT-2: Mark Boden; Buffalo Grove, IL; Chicago Region; Porsche 991.2 Cup
-GT-3: Michael Lewis; Poway, CA; San Diego Region; Mazda RX-7
-GT-Lite: Graham Fuller; Martinsburg, WV; Washington DC Region; Honda CRX
-Prototype 1: Todd Vanacore; Ormond Beach, FL; Central Florida Region; Elan DP-02
-Prototype 2: Tray Ayres; Gainesville, GA; Atlanta Region; Van Dieman ESR Mazda
-Spec Miata: Preston Pardus; New Smyrna Beach, FL; Central Florida Region; Mazda Miata
-Spec Racer Ford 3: Bobby Sak; West Bloomfield, MI; Detroit Region; SRF3
-Super Touring® Lite: Joe Moser; Wilmette, IL; Detroit Region; Honda CRX Si
-Super Touring® Under: David Fiorelli; Coppell, TX; Texas Region; Subaru BRZ
-Touring 1: Hugh Stewart; Milford, CT; New England Region; BMW M3
-Touring 2: Mark Boden; Buffalo Grove, IL; Chicago Region; Porsche 997.1 C2
-Touring 3: Breton Williams; Clinton, IA; Great River Region; Nissan 370Z - 125 pts.
-Touring 4: Michael Borden; Greenfield, WI; Milwaukee Region; Mazda MX-5


Photo Credit: Jay Bonvouloir