2017 Solo Triad Winners

TOPEKA, Kan. (September 18, 2017) -- The cones have all been picked up on the 2017 Tire Rack SCCA Solo season, which means it’s time to name the year’s Solo Triad winners!

There are two ways to claim a Solo Triad award. The first is for racers to win one Tire Rack Championship Tour event, one Tire Rack Match Tour date and a Tire Rack Solo National Championship all in the same class. The other option is for drivers to claim two Tire Rack Championship Tour wins and a Tire Rack Solo National Championship, also all in the same class. Although events with fewer than three competitors within a class were not counted, ladies were given the opportunity for a qualifying win through the Ladies Index.

Solo Triad winners receive a special trophy and their names are entered into a drawing for one free SCCA Lifetime Membership. The name will be drawn at the 2018 Tire Rack SCCA Solo Nationals. The 2017 Solo Triad winners are as follows:

Daniel McCelvey; Houston, Texas; C Street

Mark Scroggs; San Ramon, California; D Street

Mike King; Saint Johns, Florida, H Street

Sam Strano; Knox Dale, Pennsylvania; Super Street R

Jonathan Lugod; Torrance, California; Street Touring Xtreme

Randall Wilcox; Clarksville, Tennessee; Super Street Modified

Brian Peters; Litchfield Park, Arizona; C Prepared

Additionally, Formula Junior A racer Mason Herrick, of McPherson, Kansas, earned the McClintock-Berry Award for wins at Tire Rack Championship Tour events in College Station, Texas and Lincoln, Nebraska, as well as claiming an in-class victory at the Tire Rack Solo National Championship.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners.


Photo: Clockwise from upper left: Brian Peters (CP), Mark Scroggs (DS), Mike King (HS), Randall Wilcox (SSM), Mason Herrick (FJA), Sam Strano (SSR), Jonathan Lugod (STX), Daniel McCelvey (CS).

Credit: Rupert Berrington