Sunday At Buttonwillow - The Winners Are In

BUTTONWILLOW, Calif. (May 3, 2015) – Round Eight of the SCCA Western Conference Majors Tour crowned another set of winners on Sunday following 20 lap races at Buttonwillow Raceway Park.

The completion of the weekend pushes the Conference Championship point battles to the Northwest for the final two event weekends at Pacific Raceways in Kent, Washington, and Portland International Raceway.

A windy, warm day at Buttonwillow hosted Sunday’s action.

Though the race was 19 laps long due to the time limit, the first 18 and 11/12ths of the Spec Miata race were just a set-up for the final corner. Dakota Dickerson chased Clement Lee’s No. 33 RM Autosport Mazda Miata for most of the middle stages of the race, just like Saturday’s battle.

With the white flag in the air, Dickerson chased Lee down the back stretch and carried his momentum through the final complex. With one turn to go, Lee moved to the inside to protect his position. Dickerson pulled his No. 8 Rush Motorsports Miata to the outside of the turn, taking the longer run around but carrying more speed on exit.

The two ran side by side to the checkered flag, with Dickerson getting a nose in front and holding it there across the stripe for the win.

GT-3 was a thriller as well. Saturday winner Wolfgang Maike and Scott Graham swapped positions, with Maike actually taking the lead when Graham accidentally flipped off the fuel pump switch down the straight in his No. 6 SCOS Orthopedics Mazda RX-7.

Back under power, Graham chased down Maike’s No. 15 Toyota/Red Line Oil Toyota Paseo and got back in front, able to hang on for the win.

The Western Conference returns to action on Memorial Day weekend at Pacific Raceways in Kent, Washington, for Rounds Nine and 10 of 12 on the season. Sunday's winners:  Scott Huffaker, Formula F Tim Harris, Formula Vee Dakota Dickerson, Spec Miata Eric Boucher, B-Spec Troy Ermish, GT-Lite Aaron Downey, E Production Jason Isley, H Production Joe Huffaker, F Production Mike Miserendino, SRF3 Jake Pipal, SRF Chris Qualls, American Sedan Scott Graham, GT-3 Frank Emmett, GT-1 Michael Von Quillich, GT-2 Larry Mason, Formula Mazda Jon Van Caneghem, Prototype 1 John LaBrie, Formula 1000 Ed Lever, Formula Atlantic Jeff Shafer, Prototype 2 Peter West, Formula Continental John Yeatman, Formula Enterprises Marc Hoover, Touring 1 Tom Lepper, STL Toby Larsson, STU Chris Qualls, Touring 2

Buttonwillow Majors