Runoffs Sunoco 260 Tuesday Winners @ VIR

For a third consecutive year, stakes were raised on Tuesday for drivers during SCCA Runoffs qualifying. From the moment the first green flag dropped shortly after 8 a.m. local time at VIRginia International Raceway on Tuesday, Sept. 27, drivers were gunning not only for the fastest time in the first of three days of qualifying, but they were also in the hunt for a significant bonus from Sunoco Race Fuels.

Since 2020, the opening day of qualifying at SCCA’s National Championship Runoffs has been “Sunoco 260 Tuesday.” This year, the driver in each of 26 car classes whose best qualifying time came closest to including .260 earned 15 gallons of Sunoco race fuel for their car, plus a handy five-gallon Sunoco gas jug.

In addition, the several hundred SCCA volunteers working behind the scenes at the Runoffs were treated to lunch – thanks to Sunoco.

The day is called “Sunoco 260 Tuesday” in recognition of Sunoco’s 260 race fuel, which has been highly regarded for many years. Sunoco’s 260 GT is a street-legal (in most states), oxygenated, unleaded gasoline designed for high performance street cars, muscle cars, classics, street rods, motorcycles, and the like. With a 100-octane rating, Sunoco 260 GT allows increased boost levels in supercharged or turbocharged applications as compared to lower octane “pump” gas. It’s engineered to not harm catalytic converters or oxygen sensors, and contains a comprehensive additive package for greater engine protection and reduced fuel system deposits. It is compatible with two-stroke synthetic and mineral-based engine oils, and safe for carbureted and fuel injected engines.

Sunoco, Official Fuel of SCCA since 2001, has been powering victories on and off the track for more than 100 years, which is why Sunoco is trusted to fuel more than 50 series of racing, driving, and winning – including the SCCA National Championship Runoffs, SCCA Pro Racing series like Trans Am, as well as NHRA, NASCAR and more.

Below are the Sunoco 260 Tuesday winners from yesterday’s qualifying at VIR. The list includes class, driver’s name, hometown, SCCA Region, car make/model, and the qualifying time rewarded with 15 gallons of Sunoco race fuel. Winners can collect their prize by heading to the Sunoco fuel station found in VIR’s Main Paddock near the Pagoda. Staff at the pumps will have the official list of those receiving the free gasoline.

- American Sedan: Andy Schniedermeyer; Florissant, MO; St. Louis Region, Chevrolet Camaro, 2:20.275
- B-Spec: Riley Salyer; Longview, TX; Houston Region, Mazda 2, 2:26.257
- E Production: Steve Shelton Jr; Estero, FL; Central Florida Region, Mazda MX-5, 2:13.167
- F Production: Kevin Ruck; Marysville, OH; Ohio Valley Region, Acura Integra, 2:08.271
- H Production: Greg Amy; Middletown, CT; New England Region, Toyota MR-2, 2:24.246
- Formula 500: F Russell Strate Jr; Alden, NY; Western New York Region, Red Devil Suzuki, 2:09.308
- Formula Atlantic: Austin Hill; Frankfort, OH; Ohio Valley Region, Ligier Crawford JS F3 Honda, 1:50.222
- Formula Continental: Michael Varacins; Burlington, WI; Chicago Region, Van Diemen F2000, 1:52.166
- Formula Enterprises 2: John Yeatman; Cave Creek, AZ; San Francisco Region, SCCA Enterprises Mazda FE2, 1:54.286
- Formula F: Nolan Allaer; Grosse Pointe, MI; Detroit Region, Van Diemen RF00 Ford, 2:01.242
- Formula Vee: Alex Scaler; Asbury, NJ; South Jersey Region, Scaler Mk1, 2:16.236
- Formula X: Austin Hill; Frankfort, OH; Ohio Valley Region, Elan DP08 Mazda, 1:54.254
- GT-1: Ryan McManus; Seville, OH; Neohio Region, Chevrolet Corvette, 1:55.272
- GT-2: Mark Boden; Winnetka, IL; Chicago Region, Porsche 991.2 GT3 Cup, 1:53.271
- GT-3: Jeff Dernehl; Roswell, GA; Atlanta Region, Mazda RX-7, 1:59.312
- GT-Lite: Luis Rivera; Angleton, TX; Houston Region, Mazda Miata, 2:13.157
- Prototype 1: Todd Vanacore; Ormond Beach, FL; Central Florida Region, Elan DP02 Mazda, 1:44.293
- Prototype 2: Michael Moulton; Wilmington, NC; North Carolina Region, Stohr WF1 Suzuki, 1:55.219
- Spec Miata: Matthew Davis; Dallas, TX; Texas Region, Mazda Miata, 2:19.259
- Spec Racer Ford 3: Denny Stripling; McKinney, TX; Texas Region, SCCA Enterprises SRF3, 2:05.261
- Super Touring Lite: Gonzalo Aponte; St. Cloud, FL; Puerto Rico Region, Honda Civic, 2:10.259
- Super Touring Under: Jayson Nazario; Orlando, FL; Puerto Rico Region, Honda Civic, 2:04.275
- Touring 1: Paolo Salvatore; San Antonio, TX; Houston Region, Ford Mustang FP350S, 2:02.268
- Touring 2: Aaron Kaplan; Evanston, IL; Chicago Region, BMW E92 M3, 2:04.256
- Touring 3: James Leithauser; Colorado Springs, CO; Colorado Region, BMW Z4 M, 2:10.282
- Touring 4: Ken Lendrum; Queensbury, NY; Mohawk Hudson Region, Subaru BRZ, 2:16.269

As a reminder, the Sunoco fuel station located in VIR’s Main Paddock near the Pagoda is where Sunoco 260 Tuesday winners can collect their prize.

Don’t Miss Any More Runoffs Action

Keep track of Runoffs qualifying developments from VIR through It’s there where you’ll find live timing/scoring, video feeds from a couple static cameras, and an audio broadcast featuring commentary from longtime Runoffs announcers Tom O’Gorman, Larry “Lefty” MacLeod, Gregg Ginsberg, and special guests.

Better yet, get to VIR and absorb the experience in person thanks to cheap spectator tickets starting at only $20 per person. Those who are SCCA members can get a 20 percent discount on tickets by logging in to their membership account portal at And Hagerty Drivers Club members can get 20 percent off admission by snatching up tickets here.

For those who just can’t make it to VIR in Alton, VA, it’s possible to enjoy Hagerty Race Days – which take place this Friday, Saturday, Sunday – with multi-camera video coverage, presented by Mazda, broadcast live, online at That presentation can also be accessed through SCCA’s official social media channels at YouTube or Facebook, and features the voices of Greg Creamer, John Fippin, MacLeod, and O’Gorman, with Heyward Wagner calling the action from pit lane.

Over VIR’s public address system during race days, fans will hear the voices of Bob Steele, Mike Wolfe, Chris Stiffler, Tim Groft, Andy DeLay, Taylor Burris, and Wayne Owens – which makes up the Performance Motorsport Network broadcast team that covered Hoosier Racing Tire SCCA Super Tour events throughout the year. That audio broadcast, along with live timing/scoring, will be available at during Hagerty Race Days.

Additional information – including qualifying/race results, event schedule, and facility map – can be accessed online through the VIR Runoffs Event Guide.

Photo by Jon Krolewicz/SCCA Staff