Final Western Conference Championships Decided

Portland, Ore. (July 5, 2015) – The SCCA Western Conference closed out its 2015 season amid hot weather at Portland International Raceway. The final championships were decided today.

In Spec Racer Ford, Todd Harris again won the day in the No. 24 Pro Drive Racing School/Flat Out Racing SRF3, but consistent finishes by Paul Raby in the No. 7 Flat Out Racing Spec Racer Ford gave him the season title.

In B-Spec, Eric Boucher finished third in his No. 35 “The Wife” Mazda2, behind contender Derrick Ambrose in the No. 71 CorkSport Mazda Performance Mazda2 and sitting National champion Kyle Keenan in his No. 44 Kia Motors of America/Hoosier/Dick Hanna Kia Rio, but that was enough to allow Boucher to claim the Conference honors.

Marco Gallaher claimed his title in Spec Miata, driving the No. 8 First Community Bank Mazda Miata to a second place finish behind Brad Green in the No. 7 Mazda Miata. Collin Jackson took another victory in the No. 53 BM&M Screening Solutions Nissan 240SX and claimed his Conference championship.

Jim Devenport in the No. 23 Cranbrook Group Norma M20FC won again in the Prototype 1 class, sealing his Western Conference championship. Michael Tazio Ottis clinched the championship yesterday, but won again today in his No. 72 Patrick Ottis Company Formula Mazda.

In Formula F, Daniel Swanbeck took the title in the No. 27 Piper FF. Rick Payne in the No. 75 Payton Pools Van Diemen/Honda had been the points leader going into the weekend, but strong finishes by Swanbeck allowed him to take the lead.

Dennis Andrade in the No. 87 D&D Racing Vortech claimed the Western Conference Formula Vee crown with another win today.

Results from the Western Conference finale at Portland can be found here.

Provisional winners from Sunday’s Western Conference Majors Tour Round 12 at Portland International Raceway, with class, name, hometown and car.

American Sedan: Dylan Olsen, Kelso, Wash., Ford Mustang
B-Spec: Kyle Keenan, Vancouver, Wash., Kia Rio
E Production: Stephen Epperly, Salem, Oregon, Datsun 240Z
F Production: Joe Huffaker, Petaluma, Calif., MG Midget
H Production: Parker Johnstone, Wilsonville, Oregon, MG Midget
Formula 1000: Larry Vollum, Portland, Oregon, Phoeniz MV14
Formula Atlantic: Edward Lever, Bakersfield, Calif., Star Mazda
Formula Continental: Robert Armington, El Dorado Hills, Calif., Van Diemen
Formula Enterprises: Jeff Read, Vacaville, Calif., Van Diemen
Formula F: Denny Renfrow, Santa Clara, Calif., Piper/Honda
Formula Mazda: Michael Tazio Ottis, Portland, Oregon, Formula Mazda
Formula Vee: Dennis Andrade, Buckeye, Ariz., Vortech
GT-1: Will Hunholz, Vail, Ariz., Porsche
GT-2: Scotty B. White, Auburn, Wash., Dodge Viper
GT-3: Collin Jackson, Langley, British Columbia, Nissan 240SX
GT-Lite: Lans Stout, Cornelius, Oregon, Nissan Sentra
Prototype 1: Jim Devenport, Modesto, Calif., Norma M20FC
Prototype 2: Chris Farrell, Salt Lake City, Utah, Stohr WF1
Spec Miata: Brad Green, Seattle, Wish., Mazda Miata
Spec Racer Ford Gen 3: Todd Harris, Portland, Oregon., SRF3
Spec Racer Ford: Paul Goudy, Portland, Oregon, SRF
Super Touring Lite: Oscar Jackson, Jr., Chino, Calif., Scion FRS
Super Touring Under: Oscar Jackson, Jr., Chino, Calif., Scion FRS
Touring 1: Trevor Baek, Beaverton, Oregon, Ferrari 458 Challenge
Touring 3: Scotty B. White, Auburn, Wash., Ford Mustang
Touring 4: Tom Wickersham, Piedmont, Calif., Mazda MX-5

Image: Kyle Keenan takes his second win of the weekend in his Kia Rio. Credit: Ron Coelho