43 Drivers Earn 2023 Solo National Tour Points Championships

Similar to how competitors twist their way through orange-coned courses at autocrosses, the 2023 Tire Rack SCCA® Solo® National Tour curled its way around the United States during a 12-event season that began in March and concluded in November, with the 50th running of the Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships tossed in for good measure. Now that the season is over, Solo National Tour Points Champions can be named across multiple classes.

For a second year, the Solo National Tour conducted a season-long points chase. Drivers earned points within a class based on both finish and relative finish as compared to the class leader, utilizing a formula made popular in the Great Lakes Division.

To qualify for a points title, drivers had to compete in the same class at a minimum of three Solo National Tour events during the season, as well as at the Solo National Championships. Plus, series points were only awarded to entrants with an SCCA annual membership at the time points were earned.

Points from a driver’s best three Solo National Tour events within a single class counted toward the total tally. For ties at season’s end, the finishing position of competitors at the Solo National Championships became the tiebreaker.

For a class points champion to be designated, the class had to reach a minimum number of entrants across a minimum number of events. If no drivers within a class met the outlined requirements to earn a points championship, then the class was not assigned a points champion for the year.

The 2023 National Tour Points Champions

Without further ado, below is a list of the 2023 Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Tour Points Champions. An asterisk signifies those drivers who also won their class during the 50th running of the Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships.

Super Street: Jason Bucki, Phoenix AZ Solo Region
*Super Street Ladies: Olivia Hammac, St. Louis Region
*A Street: Dan Simms, Chicago Region
*B Street: David Marcus, Central Florida Region
C Street: Rob Clark, Cincinnati Region
C Street Ladies: Langlee King, Cincinnati Region
D Street: Charles Krampert, Tennessee Valley Region
D Street Ladies: Cathy Kenny, Indianapolis Region
*E Street: Bartek Borowski, Chicago Region
E Street Ladies: Emily Skoglund, St. Louis Region
*F Street: Sam Strano, Washington DC Region
F Street Ladies: Cindy Duncan, Central Kentucky Region
G Street: Evan Williams, Tennessee Region
G Street Ladies: Diane Austin, Red Hills Region
H Street: Brandon Davis, Utah Region
Street Touring® Sport: Andrew Salazar, Central Illinois Region
Street Touring® Roadster: Daniel McCelvey, Houston Region
Street Touring® Roadster Ladies: Laurie McCelvey, Houston Region
*Street Touring® Xtreme: Jonathan Mudge, Southwest Montana Region
*Street Touring® Xtreme Ladies: Emily Brown, Detroit Region
*Street Touring® Ultra: Brent Schneekloth, Nebraska Region
Solo Spec Coupe: Stephen Tyszka, Tennessee Valley Region
*Solo Spec Coupe Ladies: Jennifer Bedell, North Carolina Region
Super Street Prepared: Jeff Wong, Phoenix AZ Solo Region
D Street Prepared: David Colletti, Northwestern Ohio Region
E Street Prepared: Mark Canekeratne, Washington DC Region
F Street Prepared: Tim Oyer, Central Illinois Region
Street Modified: Jay Bullington, Central Carolinas Region
Street Modified FWD: Jeremiah Thomas, Old Dominion Region
*Street Modified FWD Ladies: Karen Thomas, Old Dominion Region
X Prepared: Randall Wilcox, South Carolina Region
*C Prepared: Robert Lewis, Red Hills Region
*F Prepared: Wes Hughson, Red Hills Region
B Modified: Kyriacos Panayiotou, Snake River Region
*E Modified: Jeff Kiesel, Cal Club Region
E Modified Ladies: Shawn Kiesel, Cal Club Region
F Modified: Boris Vujasinovic, Reno Region
Kart Modified: Chuck Lutz, Central Florida Region
Classic American Muscle Sport: Brian Regganie, Chicago Region
*Classic American Muscle Contemporary: Dave Schotz, Phoenix AZ Solo Region
Classic American Muscle Traditional: Jon Nwanagu, Central Carolinas Region
Xtreme B: Mason McGavock, Ozark Mountain Region
Electric Vehicle X: Bruce Hanson, Phoenix AZ Solo Region

A full listing of Solo National Tour point totals can be found here. The spreadsheet is strictly one of raw points and does not take into consideration additional qualifying criteria needed for an official Solo National Tour Points Championship, such as class participation minimums or Solo National Championships involvement.

(Editor's note: F Street Ladies, B Street, and Classic American Muscle Contemporary were updated to show the correct winner.) 

Photo caption: St. Louis Region’s Olivia Hammac won the Solo National Tour Points Championship for Super Street Ladies.

Photo by: Rupert Berrington