2022 SCCA Runoffs by the Numbers

What's in a number? When it comes to racing, the answer is often everything. And when it comes to the SCCA National Championship Runoffs, taking place this week at VIRginia International Raceway, numbers are more significant than ever. The racer with the lowest number in their qualifying time all week will earn the Tire Rack Pole. Some would argue that come Hagerty Race Days on Sept. 30-Oct 2, the numbers that count the most are one, two, and three – although for many of the 500-plus racers on site this week, the number "15" holds higher significance, as it indicates they went the full race distance around the 18-turn, 3.27-mile circuit.

Those are the obvious numbers – but for the SCCA Runoffs, we dig deep. Since the evening bench racing has the “lies” and “damn lies” portion covered, on this "Hawk Brake-Through Performer" Wednesday qualifying day, let’s look at some statistics:


Let’s start with the most fun number this week. There are 26 classes, which means 26 races. That will mean 26 SCCA National Champions. Most importantly, that means 26 hours of live racing coverage on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, Sept. 30-Oct. 1, That’s more than IMSA’s 24 Hours At Daytona – and you can sleep at night without missing a thing!


How about strength of field? An impressive 95 drivers on the entry list have a Runoffs gold medal at home.


Oh, let’s keep this thread going. Of those 95 above, 52 of them have more than one National Championship.


Now we’re into the elite zone. A total of 10 drivers (John Heinricy, Andrew Aquilante, David Daughtery, Michael Lewis, Steve Sargis, Andrew McDermid, Pete Peterson, Michael Varacins, Mike Miserendino, and Jesse Prather) have five or more SCCA National Championships. In the history of the Runoffs, only 36 drivers other than these have won five or more.


Flipping the script, there are a great chunk of drivers making their first Runoffs start this season at VIR. Welcome!


This is the number of drivers who will make their 20th or more Runoffs start at VIR.


The active leader in National Championships. John Heinricy added to his total last season to reach second all-time, but still 11 short of Jerry Hansen’s 27.


Returning winners from the last time we were at VIR – 16 of them! Gregory Eaton (AS), Eric Prill (FP), John Phillips (B Spec), Nick Leverone (T4, also running in SM), Jeff Dernehl (GT3), Tim Minor (FC), Visa Silegren (HP), Todd Buras (SM, also running in STL), Todd Slusher (P1), Anthony Seaber (won in FM, now FA), Jonathan Kotyk (FF), Andrew Whitston (FV), Andrew Aquilante (GT2), Danny Steyn (STL, also running SM), Peter Shadowen (GTL, also P2 this year), and Mark Boden (T1, but also GT2 and T2) .


Andrew Aquliante’s pole winning percentage, the career best for those with a minimum of 10 starts. Andrew is 18 of 25 in his career, and is entered in two classes this year at VIR. He could fall as low as 66% and dip back behind Jerry Hansen; or he could jump to 74% with a pair of poles. Depending on how it goes, his is the percentage that’s moving.


But while we’re on the topic, Aquilante is just seven Tire Rack Pole Awards away from the all-time lead. Jerry Hansen has 25, with Aquilante trailing with 18.

Photos by Jon Krolewicz / Staff