Kansas City Oval Treats SCCA Mid-States Drivers To a Runoffs Preview

Kansas City, Kan. (June 19, 2015) – The SCCA Mid-States Conference used the 2.370-mile road course at Kansas Speedway as a tune up for the end of the season SCCA National Championship Runoffs presented by Garmin VIRB at Daytona International Speedway, running Round Seven on a hot, humid Saturday.

Twenty-eight drivers took wins in six race groups during the 25-minute timed Championship races.

The final two laps of the Formula Vee race were as hot as the pavement in the Kansas City sunshine.
It started with two laps to go, when Robert Neumeister thought he had the win in the No. 94 Hoosier Tire Vortech/Volkswagen. Neumeister got to the stripe just a nose in front of his battle with Charles Hearn and Bill Johnson, then relaxed – mistaking the white flag for the checkered flag.
That let Hearn’s No. 37 Noble Racing/Hearn Contractors Vortech/Volkswagen and Johnson’s No. 42 Portable Work Tool Vortech/Volkswagen to get a gap, and the two came flying around the banking for the final time looking for the win.
Hearn, in front coming off of NASCAR’s turn four, moved his Vortech to the lowest spot on the apron to try to hold on for the win. Johnson tried to dip even lower, and the two came together on the straight.
Both spun, with Johnson coming to a rest on the apron and Hearn stopping against the wall at the top of the banking, minus two wheels, just three feet short of the finish line.
The contact left Neumeister free to cross the stripe and get the win. 

Close races are often characteristic of the spec classes, and the Majors at Kansas Speedway was no exception. Spec Racer Ford and Spec Miata were tightly contested, with the leaders coming around several laps bumper to bumper on the straightaways.

The group’s split start was delayed one lap as a car from the SRF split slowed during the pace lap, meeting up with the Spec Miata pack that followed behind. The pace cars maintained their position for another lap and gathered up the straggler. After an additional pace lap, both splits were able to take clean starts and begin their races.

Grayson Strathman started on the pole in his No. 19 Monster Energy Spec Racer Ford. The racing remained close between Strathman, Richard Wiese in his No. 35 machine, and Jim Cote, Jr. in his No. 20 Micro-Comm, Inc. SRF throughout the first half of the race, although the order remained the same.

Near halfway, Strathman began stretching out his lead, giving him firm control over the race. By the checkered flag, Strathman led flag to flag and had a six-second margin of victory.

In the Spec Miata race, polesitter Christopher Haldeman controlled the group with his No. 72 Mazda Miata as they headed to the tight turn one at Kansas Speedway. Haldeman set a strong pace, earning him the track record in SM, closely followed by Michael Ross in his No. 22 TPR Consulting/X-Factor Racing/Miata who spent many laps glued to the rear bumper of Haldeman.

Haldeman was able to hold the lead from green to checker, capturing the victory. Matt Reynolds, in the No. 71 Reynolds Bros. Racing/Vintage Connection/JPM/Miata, finished off the top three in SM.

Interviews from each of the race winners are available here.

Results can be found here.

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – Provisional winners from Saturday’s Mid-States Conference Majors Tour Round 7 at Kansas Speedway, with class, name, hometown and car.

American Sedan: Jim Wheeler, Lenexa, Kan., Pontiac Trans-Am
B-Spec: John Phillips, Sealy, Texas, Toyota Yaris
E Production: Matt Reynolds, Fair Oaks, Texas, Mazda Miata
F Production: Eric Prill, Topeka, Kan., Mazda Miata
H Production: Chris Albin, Maryland Heights, Mo., Volkswagen GTI
Formula 500: David Vincent, Leavenworth, Kan., KBS Mk VII/Rotax
Formula 1000: James Michael, Fort Worth, Texas, Stohr F1000
Formula Atlantic: Michael Mallinen, Liberty Lake, Wash., Swift 016a/Mazda
Formula Continental: Brandon Dixon, Tuscaloosa, Ala., Citation F2000/Ford
Formula Enterprises: Henry Donohoo, Arvada, Colo., Formula Enterprises/Ford
Formula F: Max Mallinen, Liberty Lake, Wash., Spectrum 014H/Honda
Formula Mazda: Joseph Burton-Harris, Syndey, Australia, Formula Mazda
Formula Vee: Robert Neumeister, Pueblo, Colo., Vortech/Volkswagen
GT-1: Tom Smith, Springdale, Ark., Chevy Camaro
GT-2: Mark Kirby, Shawnee Mission, Kan., Dodge Viper
GT-3: Brian Haupt, Spring Hill, Kan., Mazda RX-7
GT-Lite: Jesse Prather, Topeka, Kan., Toyota Tercel
Prototype 1: Kirk Kindsfater, Eaton, Colo., Speads RS11
Prototype 2: Bruce Gurney, Honolulu, Hawaii, Carbir CS-2
Spec Miata: Christopher Haldeman, Frisco, Texas, Mazda Miata
Spec Racer Ford Gen 3: David Pheteplace, Monument, Colo., Spec Racer Ford
Spec Racer Ford: Grayson Strathman, Jennings, Okla., Spec Racer Ford
Super Touring Lite: Ciff Ira, Kansas City, Mo., Acura Integra
Super Touring Under: Anthony Simmers, Bouler, Colo., Volkswagen GTI
Touring 1: Chris Edens, Sherwood, Ark., Mazda MX-5
Touring 2: Tim Kezman, Fraksville, Wis., Porsche GT3 Cup
Touring 3: Bob Schader, Lafayette, Colo., Nissan 350Z
Touring 4: Steven Christopher, Olathe, Kan., Honda Civic