Ebbens, Schofields Show That SCCA Is Truly A Family at the June Sprints

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. (June 14, 2015) – The Sports Car Club of America is a family affair. That showed in a Major – pun intended – way on Sunday at the WeatherTech Chicago Region SCCA June Sprints at Road America, where brothers Brian and Derek Schofield and Cliff and Jim Ebben were four of the 23 winners crowned on Sunday. The June Sprints are Rounds Seven and Eight of the Northern Conference Majors Tour.

Brian Schofield shook his No. 61 PM Racing Spec Racer Ford away from teammate Chad Galloway’s No. 05 PM Racing Spec Racer Ford and Scott Rettich’s No. 17 Alliance Autosport/PDI Communications SRF in the closing laps, taking the win in the Gen 3 Spec Racer Ford.

A half lap behind, brother Derek held off a pack of five cars to the stripe to take the Spec Racer Ford class win in the No. 60 PM Racing machine. The two, and their team, celebrated on the podium together, and both agreed that it will make the long ride home to Lakeland, Fla., much more enjoyable.

The Ebbens have a much shorter drive, as Road America is their home track, but the celebration will be just as raucous.

Despite a full course caution that shrunk his gap, Cliff Ebben marched his No. 36 Lamers Motor Racing/McMahon Group Ford Mustang to a walk away GT-1 win under a warm, sunny afternoon.

Jim Ebben took advantage of contact between Toby Grahovec and Voytek Burdzy to move into the Touring 4 lead, and held on in the No. 1 Mazda/Hoosier/Hawk Mazda MX-5 to complete an Ebben family sweep just down the road from their Appleton, Wis., home.

Video interviews from each of the race winners from the June Sprints can be found in this article.

Each June Sprints race counted as two races for points and finishes in the Northern Conference Majors Tour championship race. Results are available here.

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – Provisional winners from Sunday’s races at the WeatherTech Chicago Region SCCA June Sprints, with Class, name, hometown, and car.

American Sedan: Andrew McDermid, Howell, Mich., Ford Mustang
E Production: Joe Moser, Wilmette, Ill., Honda Prelude
F Production: Ken Kannard, East Troy, Wis., Mazda Miata
H Production: Greg Gauper, Hubertus, Wis., Honda Civic
Formula 500: James Weida, West Lafayette, Ind., Scorpion W1/Rotax
Formula Atlantic: Dudley Fleck, Cedar Rapids, Iowa, Swift 016/Mazda
Formula Continental: Joshua Saurino, Tulsa, Okla., Van Diemen/Ford
Formula Enterprises: Scott Rettich, Columbus, Ohio, Formula Enterprises/Ford
Formula F: Wes Allen, Lexington, Ky., Swift DB86
Fomula Vee: Michael Varacins, Burlington, Wis., Speed Sport AM-5
GT-1: Cliff Ebben, Appleton, Wis., Ford Mustang
GT-2: Jonathan Start, Caledonia, Mich., Dodge Viper
GT-3: Rob Warcocki, Frankfort, Ill., Mazda RX-7
GT-Lite: Jim Dentici, Oconomowok, Wis., Honda CRX
Prototype 1: David Locke, Lafayette, Ind., Stohr WF-1
Super Touring Lite: Brenton Williams, Clinton, Iowa, Mazda RX-7
Super Touring Under: Ron Pawley, Greenwood, Ark., Lexus IS3000
Spec Racer Ford: Derek Schofield, Lakeland, Fla., Spec Racer Ford
Spec Racer Ford Gen3: Brian Schofield, Lakeland, Fla., Spec Racer Ford
Touring 1: Mark Boden, Buffalo Grove, Ill., BMW M3
Touring 2: Andrew Longe, Naples, Fla., Porsche GT3 Cup
Touring 3: Patrick Womack, Burr Ridge, Ill., BMW Z4
Touring 4: James Ebben, Appleton, Wis., Mazda MX-5