Eyes on Road America for June Sprints

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. (June 25, 2010) €“ Late June signals the beginning of summer and the time for the largest SafeRacer SCCA National Racing Series event of the year, the Chicago Region SCCA WeatherTech June Sprints at Road America.More than 400 cars are entered for the 55th-consecutive June Sprints, which not only represents the largest field of the 65 races making up the Club Racing National regular season, but, since the move of the National Championship Runoffs to Road America in 2009, also offers a sneak-preview of what to expect for that event in September. In fact, 10 defending National Champions and 22 other former National Champions are among the 425 entries in 29 classes.Each race group will have a Friday practice, followed by two qualifying sessions, of which a driver€™s best lap will form the starting lineup. Races one through four will be held Saturday afternoon, with the remaining six contests held on Sunday.Race Group 1: ST, T1, T2, STO, STU, ASRace Group One features the big bore Touring, Super Touring® and American Sedan® classes.The Touring 1 class features 11-time SCCA National Champion John Heinricy, of Holly, Mich., back in action. Heinricy, who has focused on professional racing endeavors in recent years, is back in his familiar No. 35 Torvec/Hoosier/Hawk/Phoenix Performance Chevrolet Corvette and instantly becomes the man to beat this year. Newbury, Ohio€™s Tom Sloe is the defending American Sedan National Champion, but changes to T1 for 2010 and will be running the No. 99 Hoosier/Hutter Performance Center Corvette. While defending class National Champ Scott Tucker is still recovering from jet lag after competing at Le Mans a fortnight back, Ferrari will be represented, with David MacNeil driving the No. 79 WeatherTech.com Ferrari F430 Challenge.Touring 2 features BMWs, Camaros and turbocharged Pontiac Solstice GXPs. Nation-wide Point leader Cooper MacNeil hopes to join his father, David, in victory lane Saturday in his No. 76 WeatherTech BMW M3. It won€™t be easy though, as he€™ll have to beat 2008 National Champion Andy Wolverton, of Papillion, Neb., and his No. 86 Pontiac Solstice GXP.A relatively new category in SCCA, Super Touring features cars similar to Touring, but with more modifications, similar to the SCCA Pro Racing World Challenge series. A trio of STO cars took the overall win in this group in 2009, with GT-2 National Champion Mark Boden (No. 45 Fall Line Porsche 911 GT3) and part-time World Challenge driver Kip Olson (No. 49 Driving Ambition Acura NSX) expect to be front-runners.In STU, many drivers pulling double duty make up a 15-car field. Defending race winner Ron Pawley is expected to be the favorite in his No. 01 J Pawley Toyota/Scion Lexus IS300. Look for a strong challenge from Joel Weinberger and his No. 3 Continental Audi of Naperville Audi A4.Four-time American Sedan National Champion Andy McDermid looks to score another June Sprints crown in his No. 24 Felice Performance/T&A Shocks/Lane Automotive Ford Mustang. Other drivers to watch include Nation-wide points leader Tom Ellis, of Sunrise, Fla., in his No. 51 Steeda/Averitt/Palm Express Ford Mustang and Kansas City€™s Jim Wheeler in the No. 0 Hoosier/Rollcamera.net Pontiac Trans Am. Race Group 2: CSR, DSR, S2000Race Two for sports racing cars is stocked with former National Champions.In C Sports Racing, a pair of local father-son teams and another Wisconsinite should battle for overall race win honors. Six-time National Jeff Miller (No. 0 Kohler/Millenium/Goodyear Lola Wynnfurst), of Elkhart Lake, and son Jason (No. 8 Kohler/Millenium/Goodyear West Wynnfurst), of Sheboygan Falls, put their team against 2009 Runoffs polesitter and former FA National Champion Brian French and his son, James (No. 45 and No. 46 Motorsports Enterprises Ralt RT-41s), both of Sheboygan. The wildcard in the family feud could be two-time Formula Atlantic National Champion Steve Forrer, of Fox Point, and his No. 84 Forrer Supply/K-Hill Motorsports Ralt RT-41.The past two D Sports Racing Runoffs polesitters and the current Nation-wide point leader lead a 18-car DSR field. Former E Production National Champion and current Nation-wide point leader Lawrence Loshak, of Milwaukee, hopes to win his big hometown event in the No. 02 ETE Reman/KWS/BRD/Goodyear/Valley Graphix Stohr. He€™ll face stiff competition, though, with 2008 polesitter and current Nation-wide runner-up Chris Farrell, of Salt Lake City, Utah, in his No. 58 C&M Mfg/GDR Engines/Hoosier Tire Stohr and the No. 85 TG&C Racing Stohr of defending Runoffs polesitter Charles Dempsey, of Brooksville, Fla., also on the entry list.Like CSR, Sports 2000 could come down to a battle between father and son, as six-time National Champion John Fergus, of Powell, Ohio and son Corey, the 2009 Runoffs polesitter, should battle it out in their Hoosier/Carbotech Carbir CS2s. Local hero Bart Wolf, of Elkhart Lake, may have something to say about it in his No. 28 Goodyear/Obama Care Carbir CS2.8. He was third at the 2009 Runoffs.Race Group 3: FC, FFFour-time SCCA National Champion Niki Coello leads a huge, 25-car field in Formula Continental and is the favorite in his No. 81 Ralph Firman Racing/Hoosier Tire Van Diemen. Current Nation-wide point leader Revere Greist, of Madison, will also be a factor in his No. 56 Waypoint Health Innovations/ArmsUp Motorsports Van Diemen, as will former National Champions John LaRue (No. 3 Goodyear/ICP/Hyperco Citation) and Brian Tomasi (AlligatorBoard.com/Hoosier/Subway/RMX/Nova Van Diemen).The 22-car Formula F field features defending National Champion Scott Rubenzer, of Brookfield, in his No. 1 Storage Battery Systems Citation as well as 2009 poleistter Jeremy Treadway (No. 12 Goodyear/Loynings Engines Swift DB-6) and 2009 June Sprints winner Tim Kautz (No. 88 Braeburn/Hoosier/Boyce Body Works Piper), who looked like a possible Runoffs winner in 2009 before a final-corner accident ended his run.Race Group 4: FB, FEFormula 1000 and Formula Enterprises will make up Race Group Four, the first race of Sunday morning.Formula 1000, a relatively new class and a class in its first year of National Championship Runoffs eligibility, features eight entries, three of which are former National Champions in other classes. Niki Coello will pull double duty in F 1000 and FC, driving the No. 81 Firman Race Cars/Hoosier/PouredFoundations.com RFR-09. Three-time Sports Racing National Champion J.R. Osborne (No. 1 Stohr/Goodyear/C3 Construction Stohr F1000) and four-time National Champion Tom Schwietz (No. 72 Steel Services Citation F1000) will undoubtedly factor into the run, as will current Nation-wide point leader Brandon Dixon (No. 77 Citation Engineering/Hoosier Tire Citation F1000).Formula Enterprises will be a close battle of spec winged open-wheel racers, featuring 2009 Runoffs polesitter Scott Rettich in the No. 97 Springboro Car Wash/Hippi Racing/PDI Communications entry. Another 2009 Runoffs polesitter, although in Formula 500, Patrick Gallagher makes his FE debut at Road America in his No. 00 Jay Motorsports/CTL Engineering entry.Race Group 5: SM, SSB, SSC, T3The small-bore Touring and Showroom Stock classes join Spec Miata in Group Five, which will surely provide some of the closest battles of the weekend.Forty-five Spec Miatas appear on the entry list, including current Nation-wide point leader Chip Van Vurst (No. 03 Autotechnik/fdiesel.com Mazda Miata). In fact, the top three in Nation-wide points are entered, with second place Andrew Charbonneau (No. 67 Miata) and third-place Voytek Burdzy (No. 4 Advanced Autosports Miata) making the trip to Road America. Former SSB National Champion Harry Manning (No.