Sports Car Club of America


Luke Wilwert and Mike Crawford won at Baja last year for BFG. (BFGoodrich Tires photo) Luke Wilwert and Mike Crawford won at Baja last year for BFG. (BFGoodrich Tires photo) View Full Size


ENSENADA, Mexico (November 15, 2013) – SCCA members will play a vital role in the Tecate Score Baja 1000, as multi-time Solo National Champion Mike “Junior” Johnson and defending Touring 3 National Champion Chad Gilsinger climb behind the wheel of BFGoodrich Tires’ Baja Challenge (BC) class defending race winner.

As in previous years, BFGoodrich Tires will continue to place several of its brand ambassadors alongside a Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) National Champion. Last year, the Team BFGoodrich secured the win by nearly an hour with Hollywood TV producer Bud Brutsman, Kyle Tucker, Brad and Roger Lovell and two SCCA Runoffs Champions- Luke Wilwert and Mike Crawford.

This year’s double BC buggy crew comprises Team BFGoodrich members Andrew Comrie-Picard, Terry Earwood (SCCA Pro Racing Playboy Mazda MX-5 Cup Chief Steward and son of SCCA Hall of Famer Charlie), Brian Finch, Brad Lovell, Roger Lovell, Dan McKeever, Rich Minga, Kyle Tucker, and John Williams. Gilsinger participated in the program once before.

“The interesting part of having done this a number of years is putting together guys from a lot of diverse backgrounds,” said Jeff Cummings, BFGoodrich Field Marketing Manager and orchestrator of the BC class teams. “We have been able to bring the team down and during the course of the pre run, week sort out the pairings and personalities and driving styles.”

The BC3 team run by McKeever is made up of Gilsinger, Johnson, Kyle Tucker, Rich Minga and John Williams.

“We sat down and looked at all their strengths and the various assets they had and pretty much gave Terry and Dan the assignment of picking teams,” Cummings said. “Amazingly enough, they nailed pretty much what I had in mind. I can’t take credit for the teams but can only take credit for picking guys who I have a tremendous amount of confidence in and guys who want to make both teams successful.”

These 12 racers will be pitted against other BC teams but mostly against the environment around them.

“We told them you aren’t racing the other cars, you are racing the desert,” said Cummings. “If you can race the desert to a draw, chances are you can find yourself ahead of the rest of the teams. The success of last year’s team is that they maintained a steady pace and I kept telling them that moving is fast, stopping is slow.”

Those unable to experience the 46th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 firsthand can watch live pre-race and race day internet coverage on Fans can also visit BFGoodrich Tires’ Facebook page for photos and exclusive content throughout race week.

This year’s race will be the longest loop course in history, at 883 miles. Starting and finishing in the heart of Ensenada and covering both sides of the Baja California peninsula in the Baja Notre state from Ensenada on the Pacific Ocean to San Felipe on the Sea of Cortez and back. There will be eight physical checkpoints used during the race as well as over 70 virtual checkpoints.

For this year’s event, more than 300 entries from nearly 20 countries and 40 U.S. states will compete in 41 Pro and eight Sportsman classes for cars, truck, motorcycles and ATVs. It is the oldest and most well-known of all desert races, and it remains the single most meaningful accomplishment for drivers.

About BFGoodrich Tires

Using motorsports as a proving ground for more than 40 years, BFGoodrich Tires is involved in every type of racing, including sports car, drag, desert, dirt, rally and extreme rock crawling. BFGoodrich Tires combines technological expertise with vast motorsports experience, delivering a high-performance tire for every type of vehicle. Visit the BFGoodrich Tires Racing site at on Facebook at or on Twitter at @BFGoodrichTires


More News