Sports Car Club of America


Jeremy Foley at an SCCA Solo event. (SCCA) Jeremy Foley at an SCCA Solo event. (SCCA) View Full Size


TOPEKA, Kan. (June 27, 2013) – SCCA members represent a very diverse cross-section of the motorsports landscape. With that thought in mind, 26 current and former SCCA members are set to take part in the 91st Pikes Peak International Hill Climb.

Rea Lentz won the first race in 1916, completing the course in 20 minutes, 55.6 seconds. With the course fully paved prior to last year’s event, times have dropped below the 10-minute mark. However, the intrigue and danger are still ever-present, as drivers dance on the knife’s edge of control, inches from the edge of the road and, in some cases, a long fall down part of the mountain.

SCCA member Jeremy Foley, of Dallas, knows full-well what can happen when things go wrong at Pikes Peak. Following a devastating crash in last year’s competition, from which he walked away, Foley is back in a Pontiac Solstice GXP, looking to conquer the mountain.

Six current members, Roy Richards, of Boron, Calif.; Sage Marie, of Huntington Beach, Calif.; Will Hunholz, of Snohomish, Wash.; Robert Prilika, of Castle Rock, Colo.; Noel De Los Reyes, of Union City, Calif., and Brian Shanfeld, of Powell, Ohio, are slated to make their first start at the event.

Aside from the competitors, there are numerous former and current club members behind the scenes who have made the Pikes Peak hill climb the professionally-run event it has become. From volunteers to officials to the fans who support the event, one is likely to find SCCA members at every level of support.

We wish each of our current and former members good luck and safe racing as competition is set to begin Sunday, June 30 at 8:00 a.m. (MDT).

Below current and former SCCA members are listed as driver, hometown, class and car to track their progress.

Rod Millen, Newport Beach/CA, Electric, Toyota TMG EV P002
Roy Richards, Boron/CA, Electric, Honda Fit-EV
Greg Tracy, Long Beach/CA, Electric, Mitsubishi MIEV Evo II
Ken Gushi, Montebello/CA, Exhibition, Lexus IS F CCS-R
Sage Marie, Huntington Beach/CA, Exhibition, Honda CR-Z
Ed Gaven, Yuba City/CA, Pikes Peak Open, Factory Five Racing Challenge Series Racer
Will Hunholz, Snohormish/WA, Pikes Peak Open, Ford Mustang Boss 302
Robert Prilika, Castle Rock/CO, Pikes Peak Open, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
David Donner, Colorado Springs/CO, Time Attack, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
Sead Causevic, Vancouver/BC, Time Attack, Scion FR-S
Andrew Comrie-Picard, Hermosa Beach/CA, Time Attack, Scion xD
Scott Crouch, Boulder/CO, Time Attack, Subaru WRX
Noel De Los Reyes, Union City/CA, Time Attack, Audi A4
Jeremy Foley, Dallas/TX, Time Attack, Pontiac Solstice GXP
Tim Hardy, Colorado Springs/CO, Time Attack, BMW 325
David Kern, Centennial/CO, Time Attack, Mitsubishi Lancer Evo
Brian Shanfeld, Powell/OH, Time Attack, Acura TL
Jeff Zwart, Corona del Mar/CA, Time Attack, Porsche 911 GT3 Cup
Jimmy Keeney, Colorado Springs/CO, Unlimited, Chevrolet Colorado
Rhys Millen, San Juan Capistrano/CA, Unlimited, Hyundai PM580T
Glenn Conser, Aurora/CO, Exhibition Powersports, Yamaha YZFR1
Cal Neske, Boulder/CO, Exhibition Powersports, Honda RR 1000
Troy Siahaan, Pasadena/CA, Exhibition Powersports-Z, Zero FX
Paul Delio, Littleton/CO, Pikes Peak 450, Honda CRF 450R
Jeff Delio, Littleton/CO, Pikes Peak 450, Yamaha YZ450F
Marc LaNoue, Houston/TX, Vintage Motorcycle, Triumph Champion 


More News