Sports Car Club of America


Steve Harris earned the David Morrell Award Steve Harris earned the David Morrell Award View Full Size


LAS VEGAS, Nev. (March 2, 2012) – After a morning of seminars and informative sessions, Sports Car Club of America members gathered in the Grand Ballroom of the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas for Friday’s award luncheon, handing out a number of honors to regions and individuals deserving of special recognition.

The luncheon, hosted by Raleigh Boreen, began with recognition of all of the SCCA Sponsors, including representatives in attendance from Mobil 1, BFGoodrich Tires, The Tire Rack. Outgoing program board representatives and their incoming replacements were introduced.

Dr. Jim Butler was given the first major award of the day, earning the George Snively Award for outstanding contributions to safety in motorsports. The award, which is not an annual award, is presented only when a recipient truly earns the nod and was given out for the first time since 2005. Dr. Butler assembled a group of physicians to serve on the SCCA Medical Review Board and authored the Club’s groundbreaking “loss of consciousness” policy that other organizations now follow.

“This is an honor,” Dr. Butler said on the podium. “The previous awards winners were some of my idols and I’m really proud to get it.”

RoadRally Board Chairman Jim Wakeman presented a number of awards for outstanding contributions to that arm of the SCCA. The Detroit Region was awarded the Regional Achievement Award, the New England Division took the Divisional Achievement Award, the National Tour Rally of the Year was hosted by the Steel Cities Region, and the Arthur J. Gervais Award for National Course Rally of the Year was presented to the Badger Trails Rally and the Land O’ Lakes Region.

The Tail of the Dragon Hillclimb, put on by the Central Carolinas Region, earned the Time Trial Event of the Year. Bob Smith was awarded the Time Trial Participant of the Year trophy.

RallyCross awards went to outstanding efforts by the New England Region, for Regional Achievement, and the Midwest Division for Divisional Achievement.

Cal Club took home two awards for their efforts in Solo in the past year, earning the Divisional of the Year and the Solo Region Cup for jumbo divisions based on the region’s representatives at the Tire Rack Solo National Championship. The Northwest Region, Nebraska Region, and Lonestar Region earned Solo Region Cups for large, medium and small regions, respectively.

The luncheon concluded with the presentation of the David Morrell Award, given to an active National Chief Steward who has exhibited outstanding performance and dedication to the sport and the highest principles. The winner is selected by the Chairman of the Stewards and the Executive Stewards.

This year’s award went to a surprised and clearly honored Steve Harris.

“I’m shocked,” Harris said. “To be considered with the kinds of people this club attracts, I’m just humbled.”

The SCCA National Convention at the South Point Hotel and Casino continues through Saturday’s SCCA Hall of Fame Banquet, which will be streamed live at 7:00 p.m. PST on

More information on the SCCA Convention is available on the event page at

Related Event

2012 SCCA National Convention


More News