Sports Car Club of America


Epping RallyCross Epping RallyCross View Full Size

EPPING, N.H. (June 28, 2007) – It was a dragway, of all places, that hosted the latest RallyCross National Series event this past weekend. After wrapping up a program in Virginia the previous week, the Eastern States Championship traveled to New England Dragway for its third RallyCross National Series event on the 2007 calendar.


RallyCrossers were greeted with perfect weather in New Hampshire, perhaps too perfect, as the course eventually needed some watering to prevent fugitive dust from escaping onto the nearby drag strip where races were taking place. The field was one of the most diverse of the RallyCross season so far in terms of car brands, with Nissan, Honda, Subaru, Volkswagen, Mitsubishi and Acura all taking class wins.


The results in Prepared All-Wheel Drive sounded more like a Solo event than RallyCross. Only 0.937-second separated the eight run totals of Don Grant’s Subaru WRX and Antonio Sirabella’s WRX Wagon. After exchanging fast times all day Grant came away with the class win despite a cone penalty on his penultimate run.


Even with two cone penalties, Jim Frankel was able to pull out the Prepared Front-Wheel Drive win in an Acura Integra GS-R by 3.525 seconds over the Toyota Tercel of Matt Anderson. The Stock All-Wheel Drive Category wasn’t quite as close, with a 13.694 second margin between winner Nickolay Nemchuk at the wheel of a Subaru WRX Wagon and the Toyota Tacoma of Scott Beliveau.


John Huber took Stock Rear-Wheel Drive honors in a Nissan 240 SX and Lodwyk William claimed the top spot in Stock Front-Wheel Drive with a Honda Civic.


A full day of clean runs helped Art Chabot take victory in the 14-car Modified All-Wheel Drive category, the largest field of the event. Driving a Mitsubishi Galant VR4, Chabot was able to build a 5.13-second gap to Warren Elliot and his Audi A4.


Modified Two-Wheel was the second largest group at Epping with nine cars and was won by Harold Denham. Driving a Volkswagen GTI, Denham had a rough final run, but held onto the win by 4.067 seconds over Kevin Turner in a Subaru Impreza. No, that’s not a typo, long before the WRX came into existence the Impreza was created in two-wheel drive form.


SCCA Board of Directors Chairman Bob Introne was on hand for the trophy presentation which took place at Epping’s “haunted” Wild West Village also located on the property.


The next RallyCross National Series event is set for July 28 in Corcoran, Minn., where the Central States Championship will kick off its three-round schedule at Corcoran Lions Club Park. For full results from Epping, N.H., and more information about RallyCross visit the RallyCross pages of


More News