Sports Car Club of America


07-rally national champ 07-rally national champ View Full Size


TOPEKA, Kan. (August 19, 2010) – A record-breaking field is set to take on a long and challenging course at this weekend’s SCCA RallyCross National Championship presented by Subaru and Heuberger Motors. For the second-consecutive year, the fourth-annual event will be hosted 25 minutes south of Colorado Springs, Colo. at the U.S. Truck Driving School, a picturesque location alongside the Front Range of the Rocky Mountains.

This year’s National Championship race is wide open in every class, as only one of the 2009 titlists, Chris O’Driscoll in the Modified Four class, is currently entered and attempting to defend his title.

With Robert Johnson not competing, the Stock All class becomes one of the most wide-open classes in addition to one of the largest. Last year’s bronze medalist, Peter Zlamany of Fort Collins, Colo., returns in a 1992 SCR Performance Plymouth Laser RS hoping to move up two more spots on the podium. Zlamany was the fastest on the final day of competition a year ago, providing momentum entering this year’s event.

Stock Front’s champion may not have returned, but the trophy could stay in the family. While Tim Hardy currently isn’t shown on the entry list, last year’s third-place finisher, Tim’s father, Donald Hardy, of Colorado Springs, tries to solve his title chances in a 1991 Hardy Boys Motorsports Ford Escort GT. David Kabal, of Boulder, Colo., has progressed throughout the season in his 2002 Volkswagen Jetta and Corvallis, Oregon’s Mark Anton has shown speed in his 2006 Ford Focus.

Stock Rear currently seems to be a two-driver battle between a pair of Denver natives, Greg McMahon and Anna Rolsma. They’ll share a 1985 Toyota MR2 over the two days of competition, with McMahon hoping for redemption after a mechanical DNF while leading a year ago cost him a shot at a title. Another two-car showdown is set up in the Prepared Rear class, with Chris White, of Kennesaw, Ga., squaring off against Edwin Cunill, of Birmingham, Ala., in his 1975 Element Garage BMW 2002.

Ron Foley, of Birmingham, Ala., is the outsider looking in at the Prepared Front, where it remains to be seen how he’ll handle his first visit to the unforgiving surface at the Fountain site. Driving a very fast 2007 RCG Inc. Honda Civic Si, Foley will be challenged by Colorado Region’s Ryan Haenny and Keith Lightfoot. Haenny, of Lakewood, Colo., will sit behind the wheel of a 1989 Styluss Customs Chevrolet Beretta, while Lightfoot challenges in a 2002 Coyote Ridge Motorsports Ford Focus SVT.

The Prepared All class is primarily dominated by Subarus, but Bill Martin, of Ridgecrest, Calif., is a contender in his Mitsubishi Evo. Colorado Springs’ Zachary Collins (2002 Enginerd Racing Subaru Impreza WRX) and Ryan Gates (2002 Heuberger Subaru/ Subaru WRX) are also contenders, with Gates having had a very successful summer in RallyCross.

The competition in the Modified Two class may focus on a pair of Denver drivers sharing a car, with Ken Cashion and Jonathan McGrew sharing a 2007 Honda Racing HPD/Team Dynamics Honda Civic Si. Modified Two is one of the most diverse classes at this year’s RallyCross National Championships presented by Subaru and Heuberger Motors, with the class containing William MacDonald’s 1968 daVinci Designs Volvo 144, Volkswagen GTI’s, Nissan Sentra SE-Rs, Ford Escort GTs and Acura Integra GSRs.

O’Driscoll, of Leadville, Colo., returns to defend his Modified Four title in his 2007 Subaru WRX, but he’ll be challenged by a number of drivers in the largest class of the weekend. Eric Ganack, of Aurora, Colo., should be a factor in his 2003 Subaru Impreza WRX. Max Johnson is sure to be a contender, moving to the Modified Four class in a 1995 Flatirons Tuning Suba Performance Subaru Impreza for this year after capturing the Prepared All title in 2009.

The 2010 SCCA RallyCross National Championship presented by Subaru and Heuberger Motors officially begins the morning of Saturday, August 21, with National Champions crowned at the conclusion of competition on Sunday, August 22.

More information can be found at 


More News