Sports Car Club of America


Saturday Race Grids Set at Mid-Ohio

Ralph Provitz en route to the DSR pole (Prill Image) Ralph Provitz en route to the DSR pole (Prill Image) View Full Size


LEXINGTON, Ohio (May 31, 2013) – A full day of qualifying for this weekend’s BFGoodrich Tires SCCA Super Tour event at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course has set the grid for Saturday’s races, part of the U.S. Majors Tour Northern Conference and SafeRacer SCCA National Racing Series.

Each of the seven race groups had three separate qualifying sessions Friday, with the first two being combined to set the grid for Saturday. The third session around the 15-turn 2.4-mile circuit set the provisional grid for Sunday’s races, pending the second qualifying session after Saturday’s races.

While a threat of rain existed, the sessions ran dry in the muggy conditions. The warm temperatures no doubt kept speeds down, with only classes having significant rule changes in the offseason running below existing track records.

As expected, the Spec Miata grid was among the tightest for Saturday, with the top four cars separated by just 0.129-second. The tight deviation sets up the possibility of a tremendous race between polesitter Jim Drago (No. 4 East Street Racing/East Street Auto Parts Mazda Miata), David Bednarz (No. 68 Dynomax Exhaust Mazda Miata), Michael Novak (No. 9 Roush/Caldwell Race Prep Mazda Miata) and Jason Knuteson (No. 05 East Street Racing/Mitchell Racing Mazda Miata).

While Spec Miata is close, the top three for E Production are even closer. Joe Moser (No. 63 Hoosier/King Motorsports/Moser Racing Honda Prelude) was just 0.041-second ahead of Sam Halkias’ No. 83 Catawba Island Marina/Halkias Performance Triumph TR6, who was 0.034-second ahead of John Schmitt’s No. 62 RedLine Oil/Hoosier Tire Honda Prelude.

Saturday’s schedule brings 19-lap, 45.6-mile races for all seven race groups beginning at 8 a.m. (EDT), followed by final qualifying for Groups One through Four. Live Twitter notes, timing and audio will be available at

A full list of the day’s results and times is available at the event homepage,

American Sedan, Edward Hosni, Galloway, Ohio, Ford Mustang.
B-Spec, Joel Lipperini, Pittston, Pa., Honda Fit.
C Sports Racing, James French, Sheboygan, Wis., Swift 014.
D Sports Racing, Ralph Provitz, Macomb, Mich., S08 S08.
E Production, Joe Moser, Chicago, Ill., Honda Prelude.
F Production, Rob Futcher, Liberty Twp, Ohio, Lotus Super 7.
Formula 1000, Brian Novak, Dearborn, Mich., Nova-Piper F1000.
Formula 500, Steven Thompson, Royal Oak, Mich., T&R Fabricating TR1.
Formula Atlantic, Jacek Mucha, Laval, Quebec, Swift JMS016.
Formula Continental, Chris Livengood, New Bethlehem, Pa., RFR FC.
Formula Enterprises, Scott Rettich, Camden, Ohio, Formula Enterprises.
Formula F, Tim Kautz, Geneva, Ill., Piper DF3D Honda.
Formula Mazda, Steve Jenks, Walpole, Mass., Star Formula Mazda.
Formula Vee, Michael Varacins, Burlington, Wis., Speed Sport AM-5.
GT-1, Tom Smith, Springdale, Ark., Chevrolet Camaro.
GT-2, Trent Hindman, Asbury Park, N.J., Porsche 911 GT3 Cup.
GT-3, Mike Cyphert, Twinsburg, Ohio, Toyota Celica.
GT-Lite, Joel Hipp, Norwalk, Ohio, Austin Mini Cooper.
H Production, Matt Brannon, Columbus, Ohio, Fiat X 1/9.
Spec Miata, Jim Drago, Memphis, Tenn., Mazda Miata.
Spec Racer Ford, Scott Rettich, Camden, Ohio, Spec Racer Ford.
Sports 2000, John Fergus, Powell, Ohio, Carbir CS2.
Super Touring Lite, John Schmitt, Sunbury, Ohio, Honda Prelude.
Super Touring Under, Eric Heinrich, Milton, Mass., BMW E30 M3.
Touring 1, Jerry Onks, Murfreesboro, Tenn., Chevrolet Corvette.
Touring 2, Aaron Quine, Medina, Ohio, Chevrolet Corvette.
Touring 3, Kevin Boehm, Marysville, Ohio, Honda S2000 CR.
Touring 4, Michael Scornavacchi, Matthews, N.C., Pontiac Solstice.