Sports Car Club of America


BFGoodrich Tires Sebring Super Tour Provisional Qualifying Fills Friday

Brian Schofield grabbed the provisional pole for Sunday's SRF race. Brian Schofield grabbed the provisional pole for Sunday's SRF race. View Full Size


SEBRING, Fla. (January 4, 2013) – Provisional pole times for both Saturday and Sunday’s BFGoodrich Tires SCCA Sebring Super Tour were set on a cool and wet Friday at Sebring International Raceway in the season opener for the Sports Car Club of America’s Eastern Conference Majors Tour.

The schedule offered two 25-minute sessions for each of the six race groups, with the morning session setting the grid for Saturday’s race. Following a break for lunch, the schedule repeated, with the times credited toward Sunday’s starting grid. Each class will get an additional 15-minute session on the morning of the respective doubleheader race this weekend.

Competitors were greeted by a slippery track thanks to overnight rains and morning mist, prompting many drivers to sit out the morning sessions. Those that did turn times treaded carefully, well off the pace of a dry track.

By afternoon, the rains had lifted and the 17-turn, 3.74-mile circuit had a clear, dry race line to negotiate.

Three drivers held serve from this morning’s wet session to the dry sessions. Robbie Davis led both sessions for B-Spec drivers in his No. 37 Mini Cooper. Jim Taggart’s No. 81 Lotus Exige did the same in Super Touring Under, and Charles Rodholm’s No. 56 Chevrolet Corvette was quickest in Touring 1 in both the morning and afternoon.

Also attracting attention in the afternoon session was 17-year-old Dillon MacHavern, taking the GT-1 class provisional pole for Sunday’s race in a car bodied as a 1963 Ford Falcon. The unique-looking machine was nearly two seconds clear of the class runner-up, defending SCCA Pro Racing Trans-Am Champion Simon Gregg in the dry session.

Each of the six race groups hosting the 28 Runoffs-eligible classes return to the track for a final 15-minute qualifying session at 8 a.m. (EST) on Saturday, followed by 13-lap or 40 minute races.

Links to live timing, audio, and more information is available at

SEBRING, Fla. - Provisional polesitters for this weekend’s BFGoodrich Tires Sebring Super Tour at Sebring International Raceway following Friday’s qualifying sessions. Drivers are listed by Class: Name, Hometown, Car, and pole for each race in parentheses.

American Sedan: Thomas West, Standish, Maine, Chevrolet Camaro (Race 1); Jeffrey Werth, Silver Spring, Md., Chevrolet Camaro (Race 2)
B-Spec: Robbie Davis, Irving, Texas, Mini Cooper (Race 1 and 2)
C Sports Racing: Jean-Luc Liverato, Milton, Ga., Swift JMS014/Toyota (Race 1); Jacek Mucha, Laval, Quebec, Swift JMS016/Toyota (Race 2)
D Sports Racing: Greg Bell, Ottawa, Ont., Stohr WF1/Suzuki (Race 1); Jim Hallman, Kitchener, Ont., Stohr WF-1/Suzuki (Race 2)
Formula 500: Chris Smith, Lexington, S.C., Invader QC1/Rotax (Race 1); Cory McLeod, Charlotte, N.C., Red Devil F500/Rotax (Race 2)
Formula 1000: Gianpaolo Ciancimino, Coral Springs, Fla. Citation F1000/Suzuki (Race 1); Glen Cooper, Roswell, Ga., RFR F1000/Suzuki (Race 2)
Formula Atlantic: Jeff Kowalik, Cape Coral, Fla., Swift 016/Mazda (Race 1); Keith Grant, Germantown, Tenn., Swift .014a/Toyota (Race 2)
Formula Continental: Christopher Miller, Edina, Minn., Van Diemen/Ford (Race 1 and 2)
Formula Enterprises: Brandon Kennedy, Bear, Del., Formula Enterprises/Mazda (Race 1); Scott Rettich, Camden, N.J., Formula Enterprises/Mazda (Race 2)
Formula F: Steve Bamford, Etobicoke, Ont., Mygale SJ11/Ford (Race 1); John Benson, Dade City, Fla., Swift DB3/Ford (Race 2)
Formula Mazda: Ty Young, Atlanta, Ga., Star Formula Mazda (Race 1); Robert Noell, Cary, N.C., Star Formula Mazda (Race 2)
Formula Vee: Lisa Noble, Manhattan, Kan., Vortech Fast/VW (Race 1); Steven Davis, Danielsville, Ga., Racer’s Wedge/VW (Race 2)
E Production: Sydney Davis, Cypress, Texas, Mazda Miata (Race 1); Greg Ira, Plantation, Fla., Datsun 240Z (Race 2).
F Production: Don Ahrens, Gainesville, Fla., Mazda Miata (Race 1);
H Production: Bradley Davis, Summerville, S.C., Mini Cooper (Race 1); Terry Boylan, Lakeland, Fla., Honda CRX (Race 2)
GT-1: Ken Bupp, Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., Chevrolet Camaro (Race 1); Dill MacHavern, Charlotte, Vt., Ford Falcon (Race 2)
GT-2: John Kachadurian, Chicago, Ill., Porsche GT3 Cup (Race 1); Jason Lee, Dover, N.J., Audi R8 (Race 2)
GT-3: Mark Ward, Loxahatchee, Fla., Toyota Paseo (Race 1); Bill McGavic, Arcadia, Fla., Mazda RX-7 (Race 2)
GT-Lite: Donald Kadunc, Circleville, Ohio, Volkswagen Rabbit (Race 1); Peter Shawdowen, Loxahatchee, Fla., Honda CRX Si (Race 2)
Spec Miata: Alex Bolanos, Miami, Fla., Mazda Miata (Race 1); Danny Steyn, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Mazda Miata (Race 2)
Spec Racer Ford: Frank Severino, Daytona Beach, Fla., Spec Racer Ford (Race 1); Brian Schofield, Lakeland, Fla., Spec Racer Ford (Race 2)
Sports 2000: Bart Wolf, Elkhart Lake, Wis., Carbir CS2/Ford (Race 2)
Super Touring Lite: Bruce Andersen, Sarasota, Fla., Mazda Miata (Race 1); Andrew Charbonneau, Delray Beach, Fla., Mazda Miata (Race 2)
Super Touring Under: Jim Taggart, Cary, N.C., Lotus Exige (Race 1 and 2)
Touring 1: Charles Rodholm, Parkland, Fla., Chevrolet Corvette (Race 1 and 2)
Touring 2: Gary Mason, Waterford, Mich., Porsche 996 (Race 1); Albert Nocerine, Forty Fort, Pa., Ford Mustang (Race 2)
Touring 3: Wayne Presley, Enterprise, Ala., Lotus Elise (Race 1); Brian Kleeman, Baltimore, Md., Nissan 350Z (Race 2)
Touring 4: Jim Remy, Ludlow, Vt., Mazda Miata (Race 1); Lance Stewart, Coconut Grove, Fla., Mazda Miata (Race 2)