Sports Car Club of America


Five More Gumout Pole Positions Set at SCCA Runoffs On Thursday

John Braake is the EP Gumout Pole Winner (Lumley photo) John Braake is the EP Gumout Pole Winner (Lumley photo) View Full Size


ELKHART LAKE, Wis. (Sept. 20, 2012) – While eight National Champions were crowned Thursday at the 49th SCCA National Championship Runoffs at Road America, an additional five drivers earned Gumout Pole Awards and seven classes turned provisional qualifying laps.

The fastest lap of the day came from Scott Tucker, who lowered the D Sports Racing and overall SCCA Club Racing track record to 1:58.594 (121.011 mph) in the No. 55 West Race Cars/Hoosier West WX10/Suzuki.

Jean-Luc Liverato earned the top qualifying spot in C Sports Racing, posting a 2:01.583 (118.438 mph) in the No. 0 K-Hill Motorsports/Hoosier Tire Swift 014a/Toyota. Liverato was the provisional polesitter after the second of three qualifying sessions on Wednesday, but lowered his time in the final session before Saturday’s race. Like Liverato, E Production’s John Brakke lowered his existing Gumout Pole time to 2:28.495 (96.973 mph) in the No. 89 Margaret Peterson Bars Mazda Miata.

Kent Prather earned his fourth-career pole position at the Runoffs after a time of 2:33.837 (93.606 mph) in the GT-Lite No. 26 Mazda/Moss/Goodyear/Torco/Carbotech Mazda Miata. Prather was second entering the final session to Robert Lentz’ No. 60 FGR/Nissan/Goodyear Nissan Sentra. Lentz will start Saturday’s race second on the grid.

Brian Schofield will start the Spec Racer Ford race from the Gumout pole after turning a time in the opening qualifying session in the No. 61 PM Racing Spec Racer Ford, and sitting out the remaining two sessions of the week.

Seven other classes also turned provisional qualifying times Thursday afternoon.

Five additional National Champions and one more Gumout Pole award will be handed out Friday, along with qualifying sessions for 13 additional classes in the new-for-2012 rolling schedule that includes both qualifying and racing on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, and a full day of races Sunday.

Follow all the live timing and scoring at Live Twitter stream is available @SCCALive. Follow this week’s activities on Facebook at

The SCCA National Championship Runoffs®, The Pinnacle of American Motorsports, will crown Sports Car Club of America’s Club Racing National Champions for the 49th-consecutive year in 2012. National Champions will be crowned Thursday, September 20 through Sunday, September 23.

Each race will be broadcast live on

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – Polesitters in five classes following Thursday’s qualifying sessions for this week’s 49th SCCA National Championship Runoffs at Road America, with class: name, hometown, car, fastest time (speed). * - Denotes better than existing track record.

C Sports Racing: Jean-Luc Liverato, Alpharetta, Ga., Swift 014a/Toyota, 2:01.583 (118.438).
*D Sports Racing: Scott Tucker, Overland Park, Kan., West WX10/Suzuki, 1:58.997 (121.011).
E Production: Jon Braake, Fargo, N.D., Mazda Miata, 2:28.495 (96.973).
GT-Lite: Kent Prather, Wakarusa, Kan., Mazda Miata, 2:33.837 (93.606).
Spec Miata: Denny Steyn, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Mazda Miata, 2:43.656 (87.989).
Spec Racer Ford: Brian Schofield, Lakeland, Fla., Spec Racer Ford, 2:37.873 (91.213).

ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – Provisional polesitters following Thursday’s qualifying sessions for classes still to qualify at this week’s 49th SCCA National Championship Runoffs at Road America, with class: provisional pole sitter, hometown, car, fastest time (speed); second place driver, hometown, car, fastest time (speed). * - Denotes better than existing track record.

Formula 500: Michael Mueller, Plymouth, Wis., Red Devil 2004/Rotax, 2:23.101 (100.628); C.J. McAbee, Topeka, Kan., AJ's 2012/Rotax, 2:25.191 (99.180).
Formula Vee: Roger Siebenaler, North Hero, Vt., Mysterian M2/VW, 2:42.633 (88.543); Chris Jennerjahn, Hartford City, Ind., Vortech/VW, 2:43.256 (88.205).
Spec Miata: Jim Drago, Memphis, Tenn., Mazda Miata, 2:43.063 (88.309); Craig Berry, Tyler, Texas, Mazda Miata, 2:43.069 (88.306).
Touring 2: Marty Grand, Manassas Park, Va., Mitsubishi Lancer Evo, 2:28.319 (97.088); Todd Napieralski, Chelsea, Mich., Chevrolet Camaro Z28, 2:28.705 (96.836).
Touring 3: Chad Gilsinger, Marysville, Ohio, Honda S2000, 2:34.519 (93.192); Richard Fisher, Glencoe, Ill., Volkswagen GTI, 2:35.095 (92.846).
F Production: Eric Prill, Topeka, Kan., Mazda Miata, 2:35.001 (92.903); David Strittmatter, Akron, Ohio, Lancia Scorpion, 2:36.689 (91.902).
H Production: Ron Bartell, Madbury, N.H., MG Midget, 2:44.378 (87.603); Greg Gauper, Hubertus, Wis., Honda Civic Si, 2:46.140 (86.67389).