Sports Car Club of America


40th Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships Complete Day One

Wenzel leads FSP by the slimmest of margins (Rupert Berrington photo) Wenzel leads FSP by the slimmest of margins (Rupert Berrington photo) View Full Size


LINCOLN, Neb. (September 4, 2012) – The 40th running of the Tire Rack Solo National Championships completed opening day on Tuesday, setting the stage to crown the first round of National Championships after the second day of competition at the Lincoln (Neb.) Airpark.

At the Solo National Championships, competitors get three runs on both the East and West course, with each driver’s single best time on each course added together to determine the Champion.

Tuesday opened with defending Street Touring S Ladies champion Kim Whitener, of Fort Worth, Texas, opening up a commanding 2.568-second lead in her Texas Track Works/Motion Control Suspension Honda CRX on the East course as the first leader to set a time during the weekend.

One year ago in F Street Prepared, two-time National Champion Ron Williams, of Topeka, Kan., had car trouble with his Honda/Hoosier Tire Honda Civic, moving to a Volkswagen on his second run and finally the BMW 2002 of multi-time Champion Kevin Wenzel, of Longmont, Colo. Wenzel and Williams battled to the final run, with Wenzel taking his fifth title by the closest of margins. One year later, Williams and Wenzel picked up their battle on the West course. Heading into Wednesday’s final three runs on the East course, Wenzel’s Oh, there you are Perry! BMW leads Williams’ Honda by just 0.014-second.

Only 0.553-second separates Street Touring S leader Tom O’Gorman, of Mason, Ohio, from seventh-place Andrew Hahn in the class. O’Gorman’s Full Throttle Indoor Karting Honda CRX Si leads Darrin DiSimo, of Coral Springs, Fla., by just 0.053-second. DiSimo is the first Mazda Miata in the class, with four Miatas and three Honda CRX’s in that top seven.

The East Course ended with a class as close as predicted. In last year’s debut of the Street Touring Roadster class, the final margin of victory was the ever-so-close 0.002-second. After Tuesday’s round one, Nick Bjoin, of Burbank, Calif., holds the point by just 0.043-second in the OS Giken/ARE/ Mazda MX-5 over fellow Golden Stater Jonathan Lugod, of Oceanside. Lugod’s ARE/The RacersStore/More Greeks Honda S2000 is the closest of five cars within 0.579-second of the lead entering Wednesday’s finals.

Brianne Corn, of San Marcos, Texas, made headlines in 2011, becoming just the third woman to win an open class title, but she will have to come from behind if she intends to score back-to-back B Modified National Championships. Clemens Burger, of Noblesville, Ind., who was runner-up to Corn in 2011 holds the overnight lead in his LeGrand Mk 18 by 0.214-second over teammate Daniel Stone, of Sheridan, Ind. Corn is third, another 0.139-second back in her Hoosier Tire LeGrand Mk 25.

Follow the action through live timing at, live audio from the east course at and from the west course at, or on Twitter @sccalive.

More information on the Tire Rack SCCA National Championship is available at

Follow SCCA on Twitter @SCCAOfficial.

LINCOLN, Neb. – The top two runners in each of the 35 classes competing Tuesday and Wednesday in the 40th Tire Rack® SCCA Solo National Championships at Lincoln Airpark with class, leading driver, hometown and car; second place driver, hometown, car and gap behind first place. *Denotes Supplemental Class.

A Stock: Lane Borg, San Angelo, Texas, Chevrolet Corvette; Tony Savini, Cochranville, Pa., Chevrolet Corvette, -0.026.
C Stock: Bud Collins, Berlin, Mass., Pontiac Solstice; Chris Fenter, Appleton, Wis., Mazda MX-5, -0.257.
C Stock Ladies: Learic Cramer, Columbia, Md., Nissan 370Z; Lynn Collins, Berlin, Mass., Pontiac Solstice, -0.198.
D Stock: Mark Smith, Denver, Colo., Audi TT; Craig Wilcox, Blue Springs, Mo., Mini Cooper S, -0.497.
D Stock Ladies: Connie Smith, Santa Fe, N.M., Audi TT; Ann LaRandeau, Omaha, Neb., Audi TT, -0.535.
G Stock: Stephen Haupt, Fletcher, N.C., Toyota Celica; William Loring, Osceola, Ind., Toyota Celica GT, -0.721.
G Stock Ladies: Wendi Allen, Jacksonville Beach, Fla., Honda Civic Si; Julie Heaton, Omaha, Neb., Mazdaspeed Protégé, -0.401.
A Street Prepared: Meredith Brown, Los Alamos, N.M., Chevrolet Corvette; No other drivers., , , .
E Street Prepared: Mark Madarash, Red Oak, Texas, Pontiac Trans Am; Britt Dollmeyer, Carefree, Ariz., Ford Mustang GT, -0.491.
E Street Prepared Ladies: Amy Fair, Fairview, Texas, Ford Mustang GT; Jessica Gauthier, Lynnwood, Wash., Ford Mustang, -3.615.
F Street Prepared: Kevin Wenzel, Longmont, Colo., BMW 2002; Ron Williams, Topeka, Kan., Honda Civic Si, -0.014.
F Street Prepared Ladies: Nikki Edwards, Thomasville, N.C., Mazda Protégé; Jamie Yost, Windsor, Colo., BMW 2002, -0.063.
B Modified: Clemens Burger, Noblesville, Ind., LeGrand Mk18; Daniel Stone, Sheridan, Ind., LeGrand Mk 18, -0.214.
C Modified: Brandon Lavender, Indianapolis, Ind., Dulon MP15; Barry Ott, Elizabeth, Colo., Van Diemen FF, -0.083.
C Modified Ladies: Avril Morrison, Vancouver, B.C., Swift DB1; Carol Wong, Vancouver, B.C., Swift DB1, -1.085.
D Modified: Jeff Cashmore, New Berlin, Wis., Sprinto YC-3; Peter Raymond, Loveland, Colo., Lotus Super 7, -0.419.
D Modified Ladies: Ericka Pieracci, Livermore, Calif., Lotus Caterham; Lisa Garfield, Mount Airy, Md., Cateram, -6.833.
E Modified: Jeff Kiesel, Poway, Calif., KFR Turbo Sprite; Mark Kiesel, Poway, Calif., KFR Turbo Sprite, -2.589.
E Modified Ladies: Shawn Kiesel, Poway, Calif., KFR Turbo Sprite; Patty Tunnell, Superior, Colo., BMW M3, -1.918.
E Prepared: Chris Dorsey, Littleton, Colo., Toyota Corolla; Tim Smith, Tucker, Ga., Honda Civic, -0.394.
E Prepared Ladies: Amy Smith, Tucker, Ga., Honda Civic; Charina Hansen, Canton, Mich., Honda Civic Si, -1.864.
G Prepared: Allen Kugler, Springtown, Pa., Honda CRX; Mike Feher, Marengo, Ohio, Honda Civic Si, -0.157.
G Prepared Ladies: Denise Kugler, Springtown, Pa., Honda CRX; Kim Bollinger, Granger, Ind., A-H Sprite, -1.997.
Kart Modified Ladies: Suzanne Segal, Las Vegas, Nev., Tony Kart; Neva Hoover, Columbus, Ohio, AMV Kart, -2.666.
Kart Modified: Larry McLeod, Ypsilanti, Mich., Honda Birel; Paul Russell, San Diego, Calif., Tony Kart, -0.209.
Street Touring R: Nick Bjoin, Burbank, Calif., Mazda MX-5; Jonathan Lugod, Oceanside, Calif., Honda S2000, -0.043.
Street Touring R Ladies: Kyung Wootton, Austin, Texas, Mazda Miata; Terri Mayo, San Diego, Calif., Honda S2000, -1.892.
Street Touring S: Tom O'Gorman, Mason, Ohio, Honda CRX Si; Darrin DiSimo, Coral Springs, Fla., Mazda Miata, -0.053.
Street Touring S Ladies: Kim Whitener, Fort Worth, Texas, Honda CRX; Mikaela Walker, Omaha, Neb., Honda CRX, -2.568.
Street Touring X: Brian Heitkotter, Fresno, Calif., BMW 325is; Jeff Stuart, Santa Barbara, Calif., BMW 325i, -0.889.
Street Touring X Ladies: Taylor Jordan Towns, Auburn, Ala., Mazda RX-8; Teddie Alexandrova, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., Mazda RX-8, -0.246.
Street Touring Under: Tristan Littlehale, Saratoga, Calif., BMW M3; Joshua Salvage, Soquel, Calif., Mitsubishi Evo IX, -0.368.
Street Touring Under Ladies: Michelle Miller, Federal Way, Wash., Mitsubishi Evo IX; Christy Vehe, Bolingbrook, Ill., Subaru 4x4, -0.885.
*Formula Junior A: Julian Garfield, Mount Airy, Md., Arrow AX-9; Kate Regganie, Joliet, Ill., BRM, -0.599.
*Formula Junior B: Tom Regganie, Joliet, Ill., Margay; Zak Kiesel, Poway, Calif., Nelson Spl., -0.160.