Sports Car Club of America


Region Awards Presented at Leadership Social

RE of the Year, David Santel, Cincinnati Region RE of the Year, David Santel, Cincinnati Region View Full Size


 LAS VEGAS, Nev. (March 2, 2012) – Convention attendees at the South Point Hotel and Casino were treated to an ice cream social and the Leadership Awards were presented to some of the top performing SCCA Regions of the year.

Colan Arnold, SCCA VP Region and Member Services, presented the Tom Burke Award winners for Regional Growth, Region Achievement awards for overall program excellence, and the new Regional Executive of the Year Award.

For the Tom Burke and Region Achievement awards, regions were compared to other regions of similar size.

Ten SCCA members, led by Warren Leach of the San Diego Region with 64 referrals, were recognized for their role in the Membership referral program for bringing new members to SCCA.

Any member who referred new members to the Club were entered into a drawing, with three major prizes given away. Nick Hallman, South Carolina Region, was selected for the First Prize of a Skip Barber Racing School. Julia Aebersold, Kentucky Region, earned a $1,500 gift certificate to Tire Rack as a second prize, and Sherri Masterson, Northwest Region, won the third prize of a $500 SCCA Gear gift certificate.

Tom Burke Award for Regional Growth
Small Regions – River Cities Region
Medium Regions – Cincinnati Region
Large Regions – Philadelphia Region
Jumbo Regions – Florida Region

Region Achievement (Overall program excellence including growth, retention and variety of program and events)
Small Regions: Arizona Border Region
Medium Regions: Continental Divide Region
Large Regions: Land O’ Lakes Region
Jumbo Regions: Detroit Region

Regional Executive of the Year
David Santel, Cincinnati Region

Honorable Mention:
Jeff Jacobs, Philadelphia Region
Roger Brown, River Cities Region

More information is available on the SCCA Convention event page here.