Sports Car Club of America


Gumout Pole Positions Set For SCCA Runoffs At Road America

The Gumout Pole Award winners for 2011 The Gumout Pole Award winners for 2011 View Full Size


ELKHART LAKE, Wis. (Sept. 22, 2011) – After four days of qualifying, 28 drivers have earned Gumout Pole Awards at the 48th SCCA National Championship Runoffs for this weekend’s races at Road America.
Lee Alexander, of Pahrump, Nev., topped D Sports Racing in his No. 48 Factory 48 Motorsports/APE Racepart Stohr WF-1/Suzuki with a time of 2:00.970 (119.038 mph). That lap not only set a record in the DSR class, but became the fastest lap ever turned by an SCCA Club Racer around the 4-mile Road America circuit.
Kent Prather, of Wakarusa, Kan., held the GT-Lite pole for the first two days of qualifying, then watched it slip away to Peter Shadowen on Wednesday. In Thursday’s session, Prather’s No. 26 Prather Racing/Mazdaspeed/Moss Motors/Goodyear Mazda Miata turned a lap of 2:32.798 (94.242 mph) to grab the pole back, followed by Bobby Lenz and Shadowen.
In Spec Racer Ford, Brian Schofield, of Lakeland, Fla., snared the pole with a time of 2:37.924 (91.183 mph) in his No. 61 PM Racing Spec Racer Ford. Schofield won the SRF National Championship a season ago.
Michael Mallinen, of Liberty Lake, Wash., grabbed the Formula Atlantic pole with a time of 2:01.360 (118.655 mph) behind the wheel of his No. 71 Hoosier Tires/TRD Swift/Toyota. Mallinen will start the race in front of the brother’s Grant, as David Grant’s No. 12 Swift/Toyota just out qualified the No. 40 Hoosier/Hasselgren/Polestar Swift/Toyota of Keith Grant.
In the last class of qualifying for the weekend, Kevin Fandozzi, of Saint Joseph, Mich., topped Touring 3 with a 2:34.284 (93.334 mph) in the No. 34 Insight Driven/Carbotech/Hoosier Chevrolet Cobalt SS. Both Fandozzi and Brian Kleeman earned front row starts in the class, jumping Richard Fisher, who held the provisional pole until the final session.
Racing begins on Friday morning at 8:30 a.m. CDT, with 10 classes running in 8 separate races at Road America on the first day of competition. Each and every one of the 28 class races will be broadcast live at throughout the weekend.  
Follow all the live timing and scoring at Live Twitter stream is available @SCCALive. Follow this week’s activities on Facebook at
The SCCA National Championship Runoffs®, The Pinnacle of American Motorsports, will crown Sports Car Club of America’s Club Racing National Champions for the 48th-consecutive year in 2011. The best amateur drivers from across North America convene on Road America’s historic four-mile road course in what is considered the “Olympics” of motorsports. This year’s event began with four days of qualifying, Sept. 19-22, and concludes with three days of racing, Sept. 23-25.
ELKHART LAKE, Wis. – Polesitters for this weekend’s 48th SCCA National Championship Runoffs at Road America, with class, driver, hometown, car, fastest time and speed. * - Denotes better than existing track record. Bold denotes a change from Wednesday’s results.
American Sedan, Andy McDermid, Williamston, Mich., Ford Mustang, 2:27.065*, 97.916.
C Sports Racing, Steve Forrer, Milwaukee, Wis., Ralt RT-41/Toyota, 2:01.135*, 118.876.
D Sports Racing, Lee Alexander, Pahrump, Nev., Stohr WF-0/Suzuki, 2:00.970*, 119.038.
E Production, Jon Brakke, Fargo, N.D., Mazda Miata, 2:28.965, 96.667.
F Production, Steve Sargis, Frankfort, Ill, Triumph Spitfire, 2:31.909, 94.630.
Formula 1000, Brandon Dixon, Tuscaloosa, Ala., Citation F1000/Suzuki, 2:06.119*, 114.178.
Formula 500, Michael Mueller, Plymouth, Wis., Red Devil, 2:23.053, 100.662.
Formula Atlantic, Michael Mallinen, Liberty Lake, Wash., Swift/Toyota, 2:01.360*, 118.655.
Formula Continental, Revere Greist, Madison, Wis., Van Diemen DP07, 2:10.989*, 109.933.
Formula Enterprises, Scott Rettich, Camden, Ohio, Formula Enterprises/Mazda, 2:13.071*, 107.933.
Formula F, Lewis Cooper, Grosse Point, Mich., Van Diemen RF00 Ford, 2:20.678*, 102.361.
Formula Mazda, Darryl Wills, Deer Park, Texas, Star Formula Mazda, 2:15.122*, 106.570.
Formula Vee, Michael Varacins, Burlington, Wis., Speed Sport AM-5, 2:41.774, 89.013.
GT-1, Cliff Ebben, Appleton, Wis., Ford Mustang, 2:03.706*, 116.405.
GT-2, Mark Boden, Winnetka, Ill., Porsche GT3 Cup, 2:18.306*, 104.117.
GT-3, John Black, Olympic Valley, Calif., Nissan 350Z, 2:23.755, 100.170.
GT-Lite, Kent Prather, Wakarusa, Kan., Mazda Miata, 2:32.798, 94.242.
H Production, Mike Moser, Milwaukee, Wis., Honda CRX, 2:41.462, 89.185.
Showroom Stock B, Toby Grahovec, Chicago, Ill., BMW Z4, 2:41.479*, 89.176.
Showroom Stock C, Joel Lipperini, Pittston, Penn., Hyundai Tiburon, 2:48.416, 85.503.
Spec Miata, Jim Drago, Memphis, Tenn., Mazda Miata, 2:43.330, 88.165.
Spec Racer Ford, Brian Schofield, Lakeland, Fla., SCCA Spec Racer Ford, 2:37.924, 91.183.
Sports 2000, Corey Fergus, Powell, Ohio, Carbir CS2, 2:17.373, 104.824.
Super Touring O, Scott Tucker, Overland Park, Kan., Porsche 996, 2:16.462*, 105.524.
Super Touring U, Joel Weinberger, Hindsdale, Ill., Audi A4, 2:27.829*, 97.410.
Touring 1, John Buttermore, Wixom, Mich., Chevrolet Corvette, 2:22.030, 101.387.
Touring 2, Andrew Aquilante, Chester Springs, Pa., Ford Mustang GT, 2:27.707*, 97.490.

Touring 3, Kevin Fandozzi, Saint Joseph, Mich., Chevrolet Cobalt SS, 2:34.284*, 93.334.