Sports Car Club of America

Club Racing News

Tim Kautz' Formula F topped the Runoffs Formula category. Tim Kautz' Formula F topped the Runoffs Formula category. View Full Size


TOPEKA, Kan. (November 30, 2012) - Cars in the six SCCA Solo categories and seven SCCA Club Racing categories made the best dressed list, claiming Black Magic Shine awards based on their appearances at the 40th Tire Rack Solo National Championships and the SCCA National Championship Runoffs this fall.

The winning cars were observed on the grid, in action, and in the paddock over the course of the events, with the winners selected by a panel of judges.

Each category winner earned $400 in cash from Black Magic, with the category runner-up earning $250 and third place grabbing $100.

The winners from the Tire Rack Solo National Championships are:

Prepared: 1. Fred Zust, 2005 Lotus Elise, X Prepared; 2. Brian Hobaugh, 1973 Chevrolet Camaro, C Prepared; 3. Mark Berry, 2003 Mitsubishi Evolution, F Prepared.

Stock: 1. Ricky Crow, 2008 Honda S2000, B Stock; 2. Dan Ireland, 2012 Chevrolet Corvette, Super Stock; 3. Mindi Cross, 2008 Mini Cooper S, D Stock Ladies.

Street Modified: 1. Tom Kotzian, Mini Cooper, Street Modified FWD Ladies; 2. Brian Johns, 1993 Mazda RX-7, Super Street Modified; 3. Aaron Shoe, 2006 Mitsubishi Evo, Street Modified.

Street Prepared: 1. Terry Fair, 2011 Ford Mustang GT, E Street Prepared; 2. Jessica Gauthier, 2012 Ford Mustang Boss, E Street Prepared Ladies; 3. Dennis Healy, 2006 Lotus Elise, Super Street Prepared.

Street Touring: 1. Jake Diehl, Mitsubishi Evolution, Street Touring Ultra; 2. Terri Mayo, 2000 Honda S2000, Street Touring R Ladies; Jason Collett, 2008 Honda S2000, Street Touring R.

Modified: 1. Tommy Saunders, 1997 Legrand Mk25, A Modified; Dave Henry, 2001 Caterham SuperLight, D Modified; 3. Delmar Long, Westfield RC, E Modified.

The winning entries from the SCCA National Championship Runoffs are:

Formula: 1. Tim Kautz, Piper Honda, Formula F; 2. Scott Rubenzer, Citation Ford, Formula F; 3. Brian Belardi, Van Diemen DP08, Formula Continental.

GT: 1. Jeff Gainsborough, Porsche GT3 Cup, GT-2; 2. Mark Boden, Porsche GT3 Cup, GT-2; 3. James Hargrove, Honda Civic, GT-3.

Production: 1. Brian Linn, Mazda Miata, F Production; 2. Austin Snader, Mazda RX-8, E Production; 3. Jamie Bestwick, Toyota Yaris, H Production.

Sports Racing: 1. Scott Tucker, West WX10/Suzuki, D Sports Racing; 2. John Tipton, Spec Racer Ford, Spec Racer Ford; 3. Steve Forrer, Ralt RT41/Toyota, C Sports Racing.

Showroom Stock/Spec Miata: 1. Charlie James, Hyundai Tiburon, Showroom Stock C; 2. Jonathan Start, Fiat 500, Showroom Stock C; 3. Joel Lipperini, Honda Fit, Showroom Stock C.

Super Touring: 1. Rob Huffmaster, Pontiac Solstice GXP, Super Touring Under; 2. Joel Weinberger, Audi A4, Super Touring Under; 3. Toby Gravoec, BMW Z4, Super Touring Under.

Touring/American Sedan: 1. Michael Lavigne, Ford Mustang, American Sedan; 2. Steve Jenkins, Porsche 996, Touring 2; Tom Wickersham, Honda S2000, Touring 3.

Each of the drivers will get their awards through the SCCA Contingency program, a multi-million dollar program that awards participants based on performance on and off the track from the SCCA’s partners.

The winners of the Black Magic Shine awards were selected from a combined 1600 entries at both the Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships and the SCCA National Championship Runoffs who only had to register for the event and display the Black Magic sticker on their car to be eligible.

More information on the SCCA Tire Rack Solo National Championship, the SCCA National Championship Runoffs, and the SCCA Contingency programs are available at

Follow SCCA on Twitter @SCCAOfficial and like the Club on Facebook at


More News