Sports Car Club of America

Qualifying for an Invitation

Updated for 2012

To qualify for an invitation to the 2012 SCCA National Championship Runoffs, drivers will need to have a minimum of 4 starts (2 must be in your division) and 4 finishes AND achieve at least one of four criteria based on Divisional and National points. They are: 

     - Finish in the top three of their class in their Divisional Championship. 

     - Finish in the top half of the coast-to-coast, National Point Standings within their class. 

     - Reach or exceed a minimum number of points for a given class in the National Point Standings (listed below).

     - Finish eight or more National races

Note: Links to Divisional and National Point Standings are available here:


Divisional Championships 

Divisional Championships in Club Racing remain unchanged. SCCA is divided into nine geographical Divisions – Northeast, Southeast, Great Lakes, Central, Midwest, Southwest, Rocky Mountain, Northern Pacific and Southern Pacific. Each Division holds an average of six to 10 “National” level races. Points are assigned to finishers of each race per class on a 12-9-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis for first through ninth place. A driver’s seven-best results count toward a Divisional Championship. A driver may count up to three “National” races from another Division toward his or her point total. 

National Point Standings 

The National Point Standings assigns base points on the same schedule as the Divisional Championships, but adds one point (with a maximum of 10) for each car a driver finishes ahead of in the final results. The best seven outings count in the standings, but there are no Divisional boundaries. A driver must score base points to earn bonus points, with the exception of BFGoodrich Tires Super Tour races, which will "pay" bonus points to all drivers.

Drivers achieving this number of points, or higher, in that same class of the National Point Standings for 2012 will earn an invitation to the 2012 Runoffs, as long as they have also achieved the participation minimums. This is not the only way to receive an invitation, but is designed to give drivers a point goal to reach, particularly in areas of the country that conduct their races early in the season. This point total was established based on the number of points needed in each class to finish in the top half of the 2011 National Point Standings. 

American Sedan – 35 points 
C Sports Racing – 30 points 
D Sports Racing – 35 points 
E Production – 35 points 
Formula 500 – 44 points 
Formula Atlantic – 25 points 
Formula 1000 – 46 points 
Formula Continental – 20 points 
Formula Enterprises – 28 points 
Formula F – 27 points 
Formula Mazda – 32 points 
F Production – 30 points 
Formula Vee – 35 points 
GT-1 – 23 points 
GT-2 – 36 points 
GT-3 – 30 points 
GT-L – 26 points 
H Production – 32 points 
Sports 2000 – 40 points 
Spec Miata – 25 points 
Spec Racer Ford – 28 points 
Showroom Stock B – 41 points 
Showroom Stock C – 47 points 
Super Touring O – 22 points 
Super Touring U – 18 points 
Touring 1 – 39 points 
Touring 2 – 41 points 
Touring 3 – 50 points