Sports Car Club of America

SCCA Hall of Fame

SCCA Hall Of FameThe Hall of Fame formation was announced February 7, 2004 at the National Convention.  The purpose of the SCCA Hall of Fame is to preserve, protect and record the SCCA's accomplishments and history for current and future members through recognizing those members who made a significant impact on the development of the Sports Car Club of America. 

Nominations were submitted to and reviewed by a Hall of Fame Selection Committee. Of the nominated individuals, 10 were selected to be in the inaugural induction class.

In subsequent years, the same process has been followed, with five individuals being selected for each class.

Class of 2013
Skip Barber
Bill Noble
Andy Porterfield
Bobby Rahal
Carroll Shelby

Class of 2014
Kathy Barnes
Bob Bondurant
Dan Gurney
Dr. Bob Hubbard and Jim Downing
Pete Hylton


Class of 2012
Charlie Earwood
Jim Hall
Gene Henderson
Dr. Peter Talbot
Bryan Webb

Class of 2011
Karen Babb
John Bishop
Jim Fitzgerald
Tracer Racing
Harro Zitza

Class of 2010
Nick Craw
Briggs Cunningham
R. David Jones
Berdie Martin
Wayne Zitkus

Class of 2009
Paul Newman
Bill Chambres
Bill Johnson
Jim Kimberly
John Timanus

Class of 2008
Roger Johnson
Kjell Qvale
Fred Schmucker
Don & Ruth Nixon
Robert Ridges

Class of 2007
Marge Binks
General Curtis E. LeMay
Marc Gerstein
Theodore F. Robertson
Carl A. Haas

Class of 2006
John Bornholdt
Denise McCluggage
John Buffum
Grant Reynolds
Mark Donohue

Class of 2005
Inaugural Inductees
Cameron Argetsinger
Vern Jaques
A. Tracy Bird
Bill Milliken
John Fitch

Sue Roethel
Arthur Gervais
Art Trier
Harry Handley
Rob Walker


 Any individual contributing to SCCA’s success, be it in a service or competition capacity, is eligible.

Three committees oversee the Hall of Fame—the Formation Committee, the Nominating Committee and the Selection Committee.

Each year, the Nominating Committee will accept nominations from the membership (until October 17, 2014). Nominations should be kept to two pages or less, and indicate the background/reasons for consideration. The Committee compiles the list of nominees for the Selection Committee, which will choose the next inductees by Decenber 15.

As with the inaugural class, subsequent induction ceremonies will take place at the annual National Convention, which is generally held in the first two months of every year. Following the inaugural class of 10 inductees, up to five individuals will go into the Hall of Fame each year.

Individuals may submit candidates for the Hall Of Fame by emailing, faxing (785) 232-7228 or mailing to: SCCA Hall of Fame Committee, PO Box 19400, Topeka, KS 66619.